New Regional University Study Hub For Swan Hill

The Hon Jason Clare MP
Minister for Education
Senator the Hon Anthony Chisholm
Assistant Minister for Education
Assistant Minister for Regional Development
Senator Jana Stewart
Senator for Victoria

A new Regional University Study Hub officially opened today in Victoria’s Mallee region, bringing university closer in the Swan Hill area.

Country Universities Centre Mallee is the fourth Regional University Study Hub to open in regional Victoria and the evidence shows that where they are, university participation and completion goes up.

About 80 students are already registered with the Hub and studying in areas such as health, education, society and culture, and management and commerce through universities including Charles Sturt University, La Trobe, Deakin and Swinburne.

There are currently 34 existing Regional University Study Hubs located across the country. In response to the Universities Accord Interim Report, the Government will double the number of University Study Hubs across Australia.

We will invest $66.9 million to establish 20 more Regional University Study Hubs, and up to 14 new Suburban University Study Hubs in the outer suburbs of our major cities.

The current 34 Hubs support more than 3,400 students, studying more than 1,000 different courses, through more than 200 tertiary education providers.

They provide spaces to support students, including those from low socio-economic backgrounds, First Nations students and people with disability.

/Public Release. View in full here.