New study centres to benefit five more regional communities

More regional students will get the opportunity to earn a tertiary qualification while still living in their local community.

Minister for Education Dan Tehan has called on organisations to apply for funding to establish a Regional University Centre in their community.

The Morrison Government will provide $15 million to establish five new Regional University Centres in regional Australia. This commitment includes $6 million funding for additional Commonwealth supported university places for students attending the centres.

“We can’t accept a situation where young Australians living in our major cities are twice as likely to have a university degree compared to young Australians living in our regional areas,” Mr Tehan said.

“Regional University Centres allow students to study at partner tertiary institutions while still living and working in their local community. This represents a significant cost saving for students and is also less disruptive to their lives.

“The centres provide access to local study spaces, computing facilities and academic support.

“Today, the Morrison Government makes a down payment on our election promise to create a further five Regional University Centres.

“Regional University Centres are community owned and tailored to meet the needs of their community.

“Our Government has already provided $24.2 million to establish 16 Regional University Centres around Australia which have proven extremely popular and successful.

“Wangaratta has already been identified as one location, which will help to improve local access to higher education in areas like Rutherglen, Benalla and Myrtleford.”

/Public Release. View in full here.