NSW Ambulance staff recognised for extraordinary care

NSW Ambulance staff who provide exceptional care to their communities have been honoured at public events across NSW to celebrate Ambulance Appreciation Day.

More than 400 people were recognised for their role in saving lives across the state, including community members who stepped in to help during medical emergencies.

The Minister for Health Ryan Park and the Member for Heathcote Maryanne Stuart joined NSW Ambulance paramedics and community members at a public celebration at Bulli Ambulance station.

Minister Park said it was a great opportunity to celebrate the vital, outstanding contribution NSW Ambulance paramedics, emergency nurses and doctors make across our state.

“Our incredible NSW Ambulance staff do more than respond to emergencies – they help, comfort and show compassion to us, in some of the most difficult times of our lives,” Mr Park said.

“We’re thankful for the work of our NSW Ambulance staff every day, but today we acknowledge those who’ve gone above and beyond for their patients.

“We’ve heard so many stories of unwavering commitment to duty, from performing life-saving medical interventions to acts of bravery, sometimes at risk to their own safety.”

Ambulance Appreciation Day public events are also being held at, Artarmon, Rutherford, Coffs Harbour, Liverpool, Randwick, Dubbo and Penrith ambulance stations.

Minister Park presented the prestigious Minster for Health Bursary Award for Excellence to Inspector Sally Groves from Paddington Ambulance Station, at the event at Bulli Ambulance Station.

“I want to acknowledge Inspector Sally Groves’ professionalism, dedication to duty and support of her peers through mentoring and coaching,” Mr Park said.

“Following the tragic death of paramedic Steven Tougher, Ms Groves was a tower of strength supporting her team, many of whom were trainee paramedics and Steven’s classmates.

“She is authentic, compassionate and her empathy across her more than 26 years of service, has helped colleagues and patients alike.”

NSW Ambulance Chief Executive Dr Dominic Morgan also praised the extraordinary dedication of staff across the state.

“The exceptional and varied skills of our hard-working staff does not go unnoticed,” Dr Morgan said.

“Everyone from the paramedics, doctors, nurses and specialist crews on the road and in the air – to the call takers and dispatchers at our Control Centres, corporate staff and our selfless volunteers, to every single one of you, we say a heartfelt thank you.

“It’s great we can now come together to recognise these worthy award recipients after years of limited presentation opportunities due to the pandemic.”

Other awards presented included the Commissioner’s Commendations for Courage and Service, Commissioner’s Unit Citations for Courage and Service, Certificates of Appreciation, and service recognition clasps for staff with more than 30 years of service.

Award recipients include:

  • The dozens of paramedics involved in a multiple person rescue after a boat capsized off Bulli Beach in October 2021.
  • The paramedics who rescued two people from a landslide that had already claimed the lives of two people in Wentworth Falls in April 2022.
  • The team of paramedics tasked to Jenolan Caves on Boxing Day 2019, facing isolation and heavy smoke to support firefighters battling the Green Wattle Creek fire.
  • Dozens of paramedics from across the state for their role in response to the bushfire emergency of 2019-2020.

Member for Heathcote Maryanne Stuart said she was proud to join the Minister for Health at Bulli to pay tribute to the dedicated NSW Ambulance staff. 

“This is a fantastic opportunity to publicly recognise and praise the work of our incredible NSW Ambulance staff for their commitment and achievements,” Ms Stuart said.

“As the Member for Heathcote, I am extremely thankful for the work paramedics throughout the Illawarra and Shire do for our community.”

/Public Release. View in full here.