Peak industry body appoints new Chair

The Australian Energy Council’s Board has appointed EnergyAustralia’s Managing Director, Mark Collette, as its new Chair.

He will be supported by Origin Energy’s Frank Calabria who continues in the Deputy Chair role of the peak body for energy retailers and generators.

The Council’s Chief Executive, Sarah McNamara, said: “We are pleased to have two of the most respected energy executives in Australia to lead the Board at a time of intense and ongoing change.

“Mark and Frank bring extensive experience to the Board, which will be invaluable as we continue to work with our members on leading Australia’s energy market transition.

“I would also like to thank Greg Everett, Managing Director, Delta Electricity, who steps down as interim Chair but will remain on the AEC Board.”

EnergyAustralia’s Managing Director, Mark Collette, said: “I thank the AEC for the opportunity and look forward to working with AEC members to represent our industry as we deliver the energy transition for our customers and communities.”

There are also two newly appointed directors, James Harman, Chief Executive Officer, EDL and Shannon Hyde, Chief Executive Officer, Simply Energy.

They join Board members AGL MD and CEO, Graeme Hunt, Alinta MD and CEO, Jeff Dimery, CS Energy CEO, Andrew Bills, Iberdrola Australia CEO and MD Ross Rolfe, and Red Energy CEO Iain Graham.

About the Australian Energy Council

The Council represents 20 major electricity and downstream natural gas businesses operating in the competitive wholesale and retail energy markets. These businesses collectively generate the overwhelming majority of electricity in Australia, sell gas and electricity to over 10 million homes and businesses, and are major investors in renewable energy generation.

/Public Release. View in full here.