Portfolio responsibilities allocated to Rockhampton Region Councillors


During its first Ordinary Council Meeting, Rockhampton Region Mayor and Councillors were assigned their respective portfolio responsibilities for the new term.

Under the portfolio system, responsibilities are aligned with the key strategic priorities of the Council, with Mayor and relevant Councillors designated as the official spokespersons and lead representative concerning specific portfolios.

The returning Councillors will continue with their existing portfolios from the previous term, while new Councillors Edward Oram and Marika Taylor will fill the two vacant portfolios being water and infrastructure, respectively.

Expressing his enthusiasm for the new term, Rockhampton Region Mayor Tony Williams said the Council are keen to get down to work and continue focussing on delivering for the community.

“Our aim is to always serve with integrity and transparency, and we have a big job ahead of us as we focus on growing jobs and investment in our region,” Mayor Williams said.

“We have a dedicated team of Councillors who are great advocates for the needs of our residents, groups and businesses; and collectively we look forward to taking our region forward over the coming term.”

Council also approved the continuation of two standing Committee meetings, being Communities and Infrastructure, in addition to Council Meetings.

These meetings will take place on Tuesdays with the first Tuesday of each month reserved for the Infrastructure Committee Meeting, the second and fourth Tuesday of each month reserved for Ordinary Council meetings and the third Tuesday reserved for the Communities Committee meeting.

The public can view these livestreamed meetings at: https://www.youtube.com/@RRCouncil

The following Councillor portfolios were assigned at today’s first Ordinary Council Meeting of the new term:

Advance Rockhampton – Mayor Tony Williams

Waste and Recycling – Councillor Shane Latcham

Airport – Councillor Neil Fisher

Infrastructure – Councillor Marika Taylor

Planning and Regulation – Councillor Grant Mathers

Parks, Sport and Public Spaces – Councillor Cherie Rutherford

Communities and Heritage – Councillor Drew Wickerson

Water – Councillor Edward Oram

/Public Release. View in full here.