Re-appointments to Administrative Appeals Tribunal

Attorney-General Christian Porter today announced the reappointment of five Justices of the Federal Court of Australia and two Justices of the Family Court of Australia as part-time Deputy Presidents of the Administrative Appeals Tribunal.

The terms of appointment are for five years or until their judicial appointment ceases. The Federal Court of Australia Justices who have been re-appointed are:

  • the Honourable Justice Berna Collier
  • the Honourable Justice Andrew Greenwood
  • the Honourable Justice Susan Kenny AM
  • the Honourable Justice John Middleton, and
  • the Honourable Justice Richard White

The Family Court of Australia Justices are:

  • the Honourable Justice Victoria Bennett AO, and
  • the Honourable Justice David Berman

Additionally, the Government has also appointment Family Court of Australia Justice Timothy McEvoy as new part-time AAT Deputy President.

The Tribunal serves an important function of providing independent merits review and the Government is committed to ensuring the Tribunal has the resources it needs to provide high quality merits review with minimum delay.

Federal Court and Family Court judges are appointed to the Tribunal to hear more legally complex matters before the Tribunal on an ad hoc basis, where their expertise is required. All judges retain their judicial appointments.

“On behalf of the Government, I congratulate all appointees, and I look forward to the contribution they will make to the Tribunal,” the Attorney-General said.

/Public Release. View in full here.