Statement from CEO – Swan Hill Rural City Council election

The Victorian Electoral Commission has announced the results for the Swan Hill Rural City Council election.

Six Councillors have been re-elected, while one new Councillor will join Council.

The seven Councillors elected to Council for the next four years are:

  • Jade Benham (re-elected)
  • Les McPhee (re-elected)
  • Stuart King
  • Nicole McKay (re-elected)
  • Bill Moar (re-elected)
  • Ann Young (re-elected)
  • Chris Jeffery (re-elected)

I wish to take this opportunity to sincerely thank outgoing Councillor Lea Johnson, who did not nominate for Council this election, for her significant work and dedication during her time on Council.

Together with staff, I look forward to working with our team of Councillors and continuing Council’s core business of providing our community quality facilities and services, while navigating the recovery phase following the COVID-19 pandemic.

I also look forward to moving ahead with the many projects in our municipality, following the successful completion of a number of projects under our previous Council.

Councillors will be sworn in at a Statutory Meeting to be held on 17 November at 1pm where the next Swan Hill Rural City Council Mayor will also be elected.

Due to COVID-19 restrictions, the event will not be open to the public but will be livestreamed via or Council’s Facebook page

/Public Release. View in full here.