Victoria name 13-player squad for matches against NSW

Victoria have named a 13-player squad ahead of its two WNCL games against New South Wales at the CitiPower Centre on Tuesday and Thursday.

Captain Sophie Molineux returns to the squad for her first game in over a year following an ACL injury and will lead the side.

Tess Flintoff and Samantha Bates have also been named in the squad of 13 following their respective injuries, while Stephanie Townsend (Geelong CC) has been added following a strong start to the Premier Cricket season.

Meg Lanning remains unavailable for selection as she takes time away from the game following the WBBL season, while Ellyse Perry, Annabel Sutherland, Kim Garth and Georgia Wareham are in India with the Australian team.

The two games will also be Dulip Samaraweera’s first outing as interim head coach following the departure of Jarrad Loughman in November.

Meanwhile, Victorian contracted bowler Poppy Gardener will be captaining Victoria Country this week for the Under 19 Female National Championships, while spinner Aanliya Cheeran, who made her WNCL debut last game against Queensland, will also line up for Country.

Cricket Victoria’s Head of Female Cricket, Sharelle McMahon, said the team were excited to get back into the 50-over format at home for the first time this season.

“After a big WBBL season, the girls are looking forward to getting back out there for Victoria and playing on our home deck at the CitiPower Centre for the first time,” McMahon said.

“We’re pleased to have a number of players return from injury – particularly Sophie after a long injury lay-off, and we look forward to their contributions over these important games ahead.”

“While it is great to have our captain back, we were impressed with the job Nicole Faltum did in Sophie’s absence as skipper and she impressed with the opportunity she had to lead her state from the front.

“It is also exciting to welcome in Stephanie Townsend to the squad. This is a well-deserved opportunity and it will be a great experience for her to be around the group.”


Sophie Molineux – C (Dandenong)

Samantha Bates (Essendon-Maribyrnong Park)

Sophie Day (Prahran)

Nicole Faltum (Dandenong)

Tess Flintoff (Ringwood)

Ella Hayward (Melbourne)

Olivia Henry (Prahran)

Milly Illingworth (Essendon-Maribyrnong Park)

Jasmine Nevins (Plenty Valley)

Rhiann O’Donnell (Melbourne)

Georgia Prestwidge (Melbourne)

Sophie Reid (Prahran)

Stephanie Townsend (Geelong)


Victoria v NSW

Tuesday 19th & Thursday 21st December

CitiPower Centre, St Kilda

Coverage: & Kayo Sports

/Public Release. View in full here.