Victoria name Sheffield Shield squad to take on NSW

Victoria have named a 13-player squad for its Marsh Sheffield Shield clash against New South Wales at the SCG starting on Friday.

Will Sutherland returns to the Sheffield Shield squad as captain following his ODI debut for Australia against the West Indies, while Will Pucovski has also been named in the Shield squad after he was passed medically fit by Cricket Victoria doctors.

Cricket Victoria’s Head of Male Cricket, David Hussey, said that the squad were looking to bouncing back following its loss to New South Wales yesterday in the Marsh Cup.

“Our boys are looking forward to getting back into the whites and playing some red-ball cricket,” Hussey said.

“Unfortunately our white-ball campaign came to an end on Wednesday but we now turn our attention to putting together a strong Shield performance at the SCG and put ourselves in the running to make the Shield final.

“It is fantastic to welcome back our captain in Will Sutherland for the Shield after his international debut, while it is also great to have Will Pucovski back in the squad.”

Marsh Sheffield Shield Squad

Will Sutherland (c) (Prahran)

Scott Boland (Frankston)

Xavier Crone (Carlton)

Peter Handscomb (St Kilda)

Sam Harper (Melbourne)

Marcus Harris (St Kilda)

Campbell Kellaway (Melbourne)

Nic Maddinson (St Kilda)

Jon Merlo (St Kilda)

Todd Murphy (St Kilda)

Fergus O’Neill (Melbourne)

Mitch Perry (Richmond)

Will Pucovski (Melbourne)

Marsh Sheffield Shield

New South Wales v Victoria

February 16-19, 10:30AM AEDT

Sydney Cricket Ground, Sydney

/Public Release. View in full here.