4000 Queensland Catholic school teachers and support staff to strike in over 100 schools next week

Independent Education Union - Queensland and Northern Territory (IEU-QNT)

Over 4000 teachers and support staff in 106 Queensland Catholic schools will strike from 10am until 11am next Wednesday, 23 August 2023.

The full list of the 106 schools where Independent Education Union – Queensland and Northern Territory (IEU-QNT) members are taking strike action and will not be available for work for this one (1) hour is below.

The strike will occur at some of Queensland’s most prestigious Catholic schools, including All Hallows’ School, St Joseph’s Nudgee College, St Patrick’s College (Shorncliffe), Stuartholme School and Marist College Ashgrove.

IEU-QNT Branch Secretary Terry Burke said taking strike action was always a last resort but the only avenue left following the failure of Queensland Catholic school employers to hear employees’ concerns about working conditions.

“There’s a workload crisis for teachers in our schools but the employers don’t want to talk about it,” Mr Burke said.

“Catholic school support staff haven’t seen a change in their wage structure in over 30 years but the employers don’t want to talk about it.

“Next week’s action is about telling Catholic school employers to reconsider their approach and return to the bargaining table with proposals that address these outstanding employee concerns.

“By not doing so, the employers are putting the future of quality education in Queensland Catholic schools at risk,” Mr Burke said.

Full list of the 106 schools where IEU-QNT members are striking on Wednesday, 23 August:

  • Albert Park Flexible Learning Centre, Brisbane
  • All Hallows’ School, Brisbane
  • Burdekin Catholic High School, Ayr
  • Carmel College, Thornlands
  • Catherine McAuley College, West Mackay
  • Chanel College, Gladstone
  • Chisholm Catholic College, Cornubia
  • Columba Catholic College, Charters Towers
  • Deception Bay Flexible Learning Centre, Deception Bay
  • Emmaus College, North Rockhampton
  • Gilroy Santa Maria College, Ingham
  • Good Counsel College, Innisfail
  • Gympie Flexible Learning Centre, Gympie
  • Holy Spirit College, Mount Pleasant
  • Holy Spirit School, Bray Park
  • Ignatius Park College, Cranbrook
  • Inala Flexible Learning Centre, Inala
  • Iona College, Wynnum West
  • Lourdes Hill College, Hawthorne
  • Marist College Ashgrove, Ashgrove
  • Mary Immaculate Primary School, Annerley
  • Mary Mackillop College, Nundah
  • Marymount College, Burleigh Heads
  • Mater Dei School, Ashgrove West
  • McAuley College, Beaudesert
  • Mother Of Good Counsel School, Cairns North
  • Mount Alvernia College, Kedron
  • Mt Maria College – Mitchelton Campus, Mitchelton
  • Mt St Michael’s College, Ashgrove
  • Newman Catholic College, Smithfield
  • Noosa Flexible Learning Centre, Sunshine Beach
  • Our Lady Of Lourdes Primary School, Toowoomba
  • Our Lady’s College, Annerley
  • Our Lady’s School, Longreach
  • Rockhampton Flexible Learning Centre, The Range
  • Ryan Catholic College, Kirwan
  • San Damiano College, Yarrabilba
  • Seton College, Mt Gravatt East
  • Sophia College, Plainland
  • St Ambrose’s Primary School, Newmarket
  • St Andrew’s Catholic College Redlynch Valley, Redlynch
  • St Andrew’s Catholic School, Ferny Grove
  • St Anne’s Catholic Primary School, Sarina
  • St Anthony’s Catholic College, Deeragun
  • St Anthony’s School, Toowoomba
  • St Anthony’s School, Kedron
  • St Augustine’s Parish Primary School, Currumbin Waters
  • St Augustine’s School, Mossman
  • St Bernardine’s School, Regents Park
  • St Bernard’s School, Upper Mt Gravatt
  • St Brigid’s Catholic Primary School, Emerald
  • St Colman’s Catholic School, Home Hill
  • St Columban’s College, Caboolture
  • St Edmund’s College, Woodend
  • St Edward The Confessor School, Daisy Hill
  • St Elizabeth’s School, Tarragindi
  • St Flannan’s School, Zillmere North
  • St Francis Catholic Primary School, Tannum Sands
  • St Francis De Sales School, Clifton
  • St Francis Xavier Catholic Primary School, Mackay West
  • St Francis Xavier’s School, Manunda
  • St Ignatius School, Toowong
  • St James College, Brisbane
  • St John Bosco Catholic School, Collinsville
  • St John Vianney’s Primary School, Manly
  • St John’s School, Silkwood
  • St Joseph’s Catholic Primary School, Barcaldine
  • St Joseph’s Catholic Primary School, Bracken Ridge
  • St Joseph’s College, Toowoomba
  • St Joseph’s Nudgee College, Boondall
  • St Joseph’s School, Parramatta Park
  • St Joseph’s School, Cloncurry
  • St Joseph’s School, Mount Isa
  • St Joseph’s School, Chinchilla
  • St Joseph’s School, North Ward
  • St Laurence’s College, South Brisbane
  • St Mary’s Catholic College, Woree
  • St Mary’s College, Toowoomba
  • St Mary’s College, Ipswich
  • St Mary’s College, Maryborough
  • St Mary’s School, Bowen
  • St Mary’s School, Warwick
  • St Michael’s School, Gordonvale
  • St Monica’s College, Cairns
  • St Monica’s School, Oakey
  • St Patrick’s College, Shorncliffe
  • St Patrick’s College, Townsville
  • St Patrick’s College, Mackay
  • St Patrick’s School, Allora
  • St Patrick’s School, Winton
  • St Peter’s Catholic Primary School, Caboolture
  • St Pius X School, Salisbury
  • St Rita’s Primary School, Victoria Point
  • St Rita’s School, Babinda
  • St Saviour’s College, Toowoomba
  • St Saviour’s Primary School, Toowoomba
  • St Stephen’s Catholic College, Mareeba
  • St Therese’s Catholic Primary School, Monto
  • St Therese’s School, Bentley Park
  • St Thomas More Catholic Primary School, Sunshine Beach
  • St Thomas More College, Sunnybank
  • St Thomas More’s Primary School, Toowoomba
  • St Ursula’s College, Toowoomba
  • Stuartholme School, Toowong
  • The Centre Education Programme, Kingston
  • Unity College, Caloundra West

/Public Release.