Appointment to Australian National Maritime Museum Council

Dept of Infrastructure, Transport, Regional Development and Communications

The Albanese Labor Government has today announced the appointment of the Hon Hieu Van Le (AC) as a part-time member of the Australian National Maritime Museum Council for a three-year term.

The Maritime Museum is Australia’s national centre for maritime collections, exhibitions, experience and knowledge.

Minister for the Arts, Tony Burke, said Mr Le’s history and experience would bring a unique perspective to the Museum Council.

“Hieu Van Le epitomises the importance of a modern and multicultural Australia.

“His contribution to public service alongside a dedication to fostering social inclusion and promoting the benefits of cultural diversity, will make him integral to the Maritime Museum Council.”


Mr Hieu Van Le is a former Governor of South Australia who arrived in Australia from Vietnam as a refugee in 1977. In addition to an almost two-decade career at the Australian Securities and Investment Commission (ASIC), his previous roles include member and Deputy Chair of the South Australian Multicultural and Ethnic Affairs Commission (SAMEAC) from 1995-2007, and Chair of SAMEAC from 2007 to 2014. In 2007 he was also appointed Lieutenant Governor of South Australia and held the position through to 2014. In 2014 he became Governor of South Australia until 2021. Mr Le is currently Chair and Director of the South Australian Health and Medical Research Institute Ltd. He is the patron and honorary member of over 20 other community organisations in South Australia.

In recognition of his distinguished career and service, Mr Le has also been awarded:

  • Companion of the Order of Australia (AC) for outstanding service to the community and to the State of South Australia.
  • Officer of the Order of Australia (AO) for outstanding service to community, social inclusion and international engagements.
  • Centenary of Federation Medal for service to the advancement of multiculturalism.
  • Australia Day Medal in 1996 for outstanding service to the Australian Securities and Investment Commission (ASIC)
  • Cavalieri (Knight) of the Order of Merit of the Italian Republic for his outstanding service and unwavering support to culturally and linguistically diverse communities in South Australia, including the Italian community.
  • Honorary Doctorates from all three South Australian universities: University of Adelaide in 2008; Flinders University in 2011; and University of South Australia in 2023.

/Public Release. View in full here.