Australia Council and PPCA announce ten new sound recording grant recipients

The Phonographic Performance Company of Australia (PPCA) and the Australia Council for the Arts today announced the latest recipients of their partnership program.

Ten new recipients received a $15,000 grant each, to assist with the creation of new sound recordings. This is the tenth round of grants that have been provided since PPCA and the Australia Council for the Arts first partnered in 2013, which to date, has provided $975k in creative grants to Australian musicians.

CEO of PPCA, Annabelle Herd, said: “We are thrilled to continue our support of Australian artists and creators by awarding these grants through PPCA’s ongoing partnership with Australia Council. We are incredibly proud to invest in the future of Australian music with real financial backing and championing the unique voices of this nation. It’s amazing to think we are now in our tenth round of this program, which has helped so many incredible voices find an audience.

“Congratulations to this year’s successful applicants, and thank you to all the fantastic artists who applied as well as Australia Council for their ongoing support.”

Australia Council’s Head of Music, Kirsty Rivers, said: “We are proud to continue to partner with PPCA to support the development of new recorded music. It’s fantastic to see the diversity represented in this latest round, and as Music Australia becomes a reality later this year we will continue to support, promote, and celebrate Australian music.”

The latest recipients of the PPCA Australia Council grants are:

  • Jaydon Colvin, Victoria: To write, record and release the debut album for East Gippsland group Outloved. Their music has over 5 million streams, and their debut EP landed at #7 on the AIR (Australian Independent Records) Independent Charts. Last year they completed a national tour and returned to Melbourne for their first headline show, which sold out the infamous Cherry Bar.
  • Nick Gill, NSW: For the recording and release of The Quokkas’ debut album Songs For Everybody. The Quokkas are a five-piece band of professional musicians, made up of different cultural backgrounds and physical abilities, who are focused on helping the next generation of Aussie children explore the world. Their new album aims to create songs that encourage children to be accepting and inclusive of everyday differences and diversity.
  • Jem Cassar-Daley, Queensland: For the recording and release of Jem’s debut album, Slow Down, which explores themes of self-exploration and love. Jem is a proud Gumbaynggirr/Bundjalung woman who comes from a long line of storytellers. Jem creates a soundscape of soul, indie, pop grooves.
  • Coady Green, Victoria: The pitched project, performed by pianist Coady Green, sees the recording and international release of the complete works for solo piano and chamber music (1991-2023) of Linda Kouvaras: the renowned senior Australian composer, musicologist, pianist, and Professor at Melbourne Conservatorium of Music, the University of Melbourne. The recording is to be completed for UK-based label Toccata Classics.
  • Eden Sher, Queensland: Alf the Great is a proud Kalkadungu and Bidjira man of Mt. Isa and Canarvon Gorge, currently based in Melbourne/Naarm. Alf plans to release a six-track EP followed by two stand-alone singles. The EP and singles will showcase Alf’s signature style and feature collaborations with emerging South Sudanese/Australian artist Luaté, First Nations artist Glves, First Nations label-mates doyouloveme?, Denzel Kennedy, and Quinta.
  • Kaiit Waup, Victoria: For the recording and release of the And Off She Goes EP; incorporating jazz, hip-hop and soul genres as Kaiit’s character Lil Mama, as she navigates her relationships, life journey and artistic aspirations. It will be the first work released in two years after winning an ARIA Award in 2019 for Best Soul/R&B Release.
  • Jamunajai Renaud, NSW: Recording, production and mixing of four forthcoming singles by dancehall and reggae artist Gold Fang.
  • Deena Lynch, Queensland: After four years of advocacy in the Australian music industry raising awareness of sexual harassment, systemic discrimination and bullying, Deena is now ready to put her artistry first and focus on the creation of her second album under Jaguar Jonze.
  • Anamika Jadunundun, Victoria: Aarti Jadu Ensemble comprises nine diverse musicians who collaborate to perform hypnotic, long-form compositions that shed light on the intersection of music from spiritual/folk and electronic/club contexts. The album will be distributed nationwide and offshore through Nice Music.
  • Aviva Endean, Victoria: The Cloud Maker is an improvising ensemble featuring six female-identifying and culturally diverse musicians: Te Kahurermoa Taumata (tāonga pūoro/voice), Sunny Kim (voice/electronics), Aviva Endean (clarinets/winds), Jasmin Win-Ying Leung (erhu), Freya Schack-Arnott (cello/nyckelharper), and Maria Moles (drums). The Cloud Maker will record their debut album and release it through Skinnyfish Music.
/Public Release. View in full here.