COTA Australia welcomes the appointment of new Council of the Elders members

COTA Australia – the peak advocacy organisation for older Australians – has welcomed the recent appointment of seven new members to the Council of the Elders.

The Council of Elders has welcomed seven new members, including Mr James Carey, Ms Lynette Cullinane, Mr John Davis, Ms Anna Harrison AM, JP, Major General Vikram Madon OAM, Ms Juliet Rankin and Ms Lynda Whiteway. They will join continuing members – Professor Tom Calma AO, Ms Val Fell OAM, Ms Gillian Groom AO, Ms Gwenda Darling, Professor John McCallum and Ms Margaret Walsh OAM – under the expert leadership of Anne Burgess AM.

Patricia Sparrow, CEO of COTA Australia, said, “the Council serves as an important voice for older Australians, providing advice to government to drive change in aged care reform and aging-related matters.

“Having strong voices at the Council is key to driving changes in government policies that genuinely resonate with the lived experiences of older Australians.

“Each new member brings valuable experience and diverse perspectives to the table,” said Ms Sparrow.

Ms Sparrow also recognised the contribution made by, and thanked outgoing members from the Council, including, Michael Barbato, Daniella Hllis, Sur McCann, Kay Patterson, and Dr Miriam-Rose Ungunmerr Baumann.

“We look forward to working with and supporting the work of the Council of Elders in the years to come”, said Ms Sparrow.

/Public Release. View in full here.