Cricket Australia announces Australian Deaf squad for upcoming World Cup

Cricket Australia has announced the Australian squad that will compete in the Deaf International Cricket Council (DICC) T20 World Cup 2024 from March 6 -12.

Australia will travel to Dubai to play five matches in the six-day tournament against Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Pakistan, South Africa and India. The team will be aiming to reach the knockout stages with the semi-finals and final to be held on 11 and 12 March, respectively.

Australia coach Jason Mathers believes the team can rise to the challenge, returning to the international stage after two years having gained more experience and confidence leading into the tournament.

Andrew Park will captain the team while fast bowler Callum Asbury is set to return after a standout performance at the National Cricket Inclusion Championships, alongside young gun Shrey Patel.

The squad will also feature two uncapped players in Michael Blight from Queensland and 18-year-old Himath Perera.

With the support of CommBank, cricket is the first non-Paralympic Australian sport to fully fund national disability squads.

Cricket Australia Deaf Team Coach, Jason Mathers said:

“We are looking forward to the upcoming DICC T20 World Cup in March.

“Events like this are a great way to showcase the sport and the incredible talent of the players.

“Following last year’s cancelled tour, the squad are excited to make our return to international cricket after two years.

“The squad has been working hard over the past year, and we are looking forward to our next challenge at the World Cup.”

Australia’s Deaf squad:

Andrew Park (C) (NSW/Cammeray CC)

Tyson Hay (VIC/Merrivale CC)

Harry Bell (NSW/Eastern Suburbs District CC)

Lewis Beard (NSW/ St Ives Wahroonga CC)

Shrey Patel (SA/East Torrens District CC)

Liam Prineas (QLD/ Mudgeeraba Nerang & Districts CC)

Michael Blight (QLD/Mudgeeraba/Nerang District CC)

Nicholas Mahoney (QLD/Mudgeeraba Nerang District CC)

Sean Walsh (QLD/Gold Crest CC)

Callum Asbury (VIC/Inverloch CC)

Himath Ubeyanarayanage-Perera (VIC/Narre Warren CC)

Justin Morgan (VIC/Meerlieu CC)

David Melling (WA/Murdoch University Melville CC)

James Johnston (WA/Hilton Bicton CC)

Matthew Shenton (WA/Kalamunda CC)

Coach: Jason Mathers

Assistant Coach: Job van Bunge

Team Manager: Chris Ashenden

2024 DICC T20 World Cup Australian Team Fixture

March 6: Australia v Sri Lanka

March 7: Australia v Bangladesh

March 8: Australia v Pakistan

March 9: Australia v South Africa

March 10: Australia v India

March 11: Semi Finals

March 12: Finals

/Public Release. View in full here.