Disaster assistance extended to Leeton

Department of Home Affairs

Joint media release with the Hon Steph Cooke MP, New South Wales Minister for Emergency Services and Resilience and Minister for Flood Recovery

Jointly funded Commonwealth-State disaster assistance has been extended to the Leeton local government area (LGA) following the severe storms and flash flooding which impacted the Riverina in January 2022.

Minister for Emergency Management, Senator the Hon Murray Watt, said there had been significant damage to horticulture, agriculture and associated infrastructure as a result of the storms and heavy rainfall from 26 to 30 January.

“This intense weather left councils and primary producers facing major damage and repairs throughout the region,” Minister Watt said.

“Given the significant contribution the region makes to the supply of fresh produce both locally and internationally, it’s imperative that support is available to assist recovery.”

New South Wales Minister for Emergency Services and Resilience and Minister for Flood Recovery Steph Cooke said the assistance being announced will ensure residents in the Leeton LGA can access the same support as other areas impacted by the January weather event.

“As a result of new damage assessments provided by primary producers, disaster assistance is being extended so homeowners, business owners and the local council in Leeton LGA can access support,” Ms Cooke said.

“A total of 21 LGAs are now subject to natural disaster declarations from the severe storms and flash flooding experienced from 26 to 30 January.”

In addition to Leeton, a natural disaster has already been declared in the LGAs of Albury, Berrigan, Bland, Blayney, Central Darling, Cootamundra-Gundagai, Edward River, 2 Federation, Goulburn Mulwaree, Greater Hume, Griffith, Hay, Hilltops, Junee, Lockhart, Narrandera, Snowy Valleys, Temora, Upper Lachlan and Weddin.

Assistance is being provided through the jointly funded Commonwealth-State Disaster Recovery Funding Arrangements (DRFA).

Assistance available under the DRFA may include:

  • Help for eligible people whose homes or belongings have been damaged (eligibility criteria apply);
  • Support for council to help with the costs of cleaning up and restoring damaged essential public assets;
  • Concessional interest rate loans for small businesses, primary producers and non-profit organisations; and
  • Freight subsidies for primary producers.

For information relating to financial assistance, please contact Service NSW on 13 77 88 or visit www.nsw.gov.au.

To apply for a conces​sional interest rate loan, contact the NSW Rural Assistance Authority on 1800 678 593 or visit www.raa.nsw.gov.au.

Information on disaster assistance can also be found on the Disaster Assist website at www.disasterassist.gov.au

/Public Release. View in full here.