Drought Resilience Planning For Western Riverina

The Australian Government and NSW Government have awarded Griffith City Council, Leeton Shire, Murrumbidgee and Narrandera Shire Council with $560,000 to deliver and implement a Regional Drought Resilience Plan through the Future Drought Fund.

The four councils have joined together to create the Western Riverina Consortium. Their aim is to develop a plan outlining practical steps to prepare for and deal with future drought impacts in the region. A prioritised list of actions and pathways will be established to build drought resilience, specific to this region and address the needs of the community. The development of the plan is currently underway.

The key element to the development of this plan is stakeholder and community consultation, to generate evidence-based objectives that mitigate and adapt to future droughts.

Griffith City Council Mayor Doug Curran said, “I really welcome this announcement of funding for this vital planning for our communities. I feel it is a recognition of what can be achieved through collaboration of our four councils that have all been adversely affected by droughts. We need to build resilience in our communities for the next drought, our areas feed the nation and we must ensure this can continue as the nation grows.”

The Regional Drought Resilience Planning Program is jointly funded by the Australian Government and NSW Government under the Future Drought Fund.

/Public Release. View in full here.