FFA recognises first Australian coaches to win J-League

Football Federation Australia (FFA) would like to congratulate Ange Postecoglou and his coaching team – Peter Cklamovski, Arthur Papas and Gregory John King – on winning Japan’s J-League.

Postecoglou, who coached Brisbane Roar to two Hyundai A-League Championships, in 2010/11 and 2011/12 and a Premiership in 2010/11, was Australia men’s national team coach between 2013 and 2017 and guided the Caltex Socceroos to AFC Asian Cup glory in 2015.

Postecoglou took over at Yokohama F. Marinos in December 2017, and led them to their fourth J-League title in club’s 47-year history, and their first in 15 years, in his second season in charge.

Postecoglou’s side finished top of the ladder in 2019, six points clear of FC Tokyo, and clinched the trophy with a 3-0 win against their title rivals on the final day of the campaign on Saturday. Postecoglou becomes the first Australian head coach to win the J-League.

GetOnside AusBid2023 Limitless Banner
/Public Release. View in full here.