Former health minister joins South West Hospital and Health Board

Minister for Health, Mental Health and Ambulance Services and Minister for Women The Honourable Shannon Fentiman
  • Four new members have joined the South West Hospital and Health Board, including a former deputy premier and health minister.
  • The board members bring a vast range of experience across the fields of business, politics, community services and primary health.
  • Boards are responsible under the Hospital and Health Boards Act 2011 for local performance of their health service and the delivery of public health services within their communities.

A 10-person board with experience in health, business and politics has been appointed to govern the South West Queensland Hospital and Health Service (HHS).

Minister for Health, Mental Health and Ambulance Services and Minister for Women Shannon Fentiman announced the newly appointed board, which will be again led by Karen Tully.

Karen Tully was re-appointed to this position and will now preside over a 10-member board, an increase on the previous eight members.

Former health minister The Honourable Paul Lucas, along with Dr Tonia de Bruin, Ethan Capewell and Alison Zappala are joining the board this year.

Mr Lucas was Deputy Premier of Queensland from 2007 to 2011 and held a range of ministerial appointments, including health, over an 11-year period from 2001 to 2012.

Dr de Bruin currently is Senior Manager of yourtown – a not for profit organisation that specialises in providing services and support to children and young people aged five to 25 years, and Ethan Capewell currently is Deadly Choices South West Regional Coordinator for the Cunnamulla Aboriginal Corporation for Health (CACH).

Alison Zappala is an experienced Registered Nurse with qualifications in business management and strategic leadership.

Dr Mark Waters, Ms Clarita (Claire) Alexander and Mr Bruce Scott OAM have renewed their membership for another term and join two continuing members still within their current term.

The new board, which will set the strategic direction and oversee the management of the South West HHS, consists of:

  • Ms Karen Tully (Chair)
  • Ms Claire Alexander
  • Ms Jan Chambers
  • Mr Ray Chandler
  • Dr Mark Waters
  • Mr Bruce Scott OAM
  • The Honourable Paul Lucas
  • Dr Tonia de Bruin
  • Ms Alison Zappala
  • Mr Ethan Capewell

Quotes attributable to Minister for Health, Mental Health and Ambulance Services and Minister for Women Shannon Fentiman

“I’m pleased South West HHS has been able to attract such experienced, knowledgeable and well-respected people to the Board this year who I know will make a positive impact.

“I’d like to congratulate Board Chair Ms Tully and the five continuing members for their ongoing service to the community and thank non-continuing members for their service.

“The current board members are leaders in their respective fields and bring with them key skills, knowledge and experience to South West HHS.

“I look forward to working with the newly appointed Board to deliver safe and timely healthcare for South West Queenslanders.”

/Public Release. View in full here.