Hornsby Shire targets 100% renewable energy in huge deal with electricity retailer ZEN

Hornsby Shire Council

Nevertire Solar farm

In one of the largest renewable energy deals for local government, Hornsby Shire Council will have 100 percent of its electricity needs supplied by three NSW solar farms.

An agreement was announced today by the Southern Sydney Regional Organisation of Councils (SSROC), which brokered the deal, with the electricity retailer, ZEN Energy Retail Pty Ltd. (ZEN Energy).

Worth approximately $180 million, the landmark retail electricity agreement will deliver over 214 gigawatt-hours of electricity per year to 25 councils across NSW, including Hornsby Shire Council.

The agreement involves the supply of electricity to over 300 major council facilities, more than 210,000 streetlights and more than 3000 small sites managed by councils.

“Hornsby Shire Council has opted for 100 percent renewable energy under the agreement,” said Hornsby Shire Mayor, Philip Ruddock today.

“It is critical that local government appropriately addresses climate change, and this agreement is consistent with Council’s ‘Sustainable Hornsby 2040 Strategy and Climate Wise Plan’.

“By sourcing 100 percent renewable energy we will be on our path to meet our target of net-zero carbon emissions, to ensure that we remain environmentally sustainable into the future, especially as we continue to provide services to our growing population.”

The 25 councils participating in the agreement collectively represent over three million people, almost 38 percent of NSW’s population. The agreement commences in 2022 and runs to 2026 with an option to extend to 2030.

Overall, 83 percent of the councils’ total electricity supply will be covered by renewable energy from the Moree, Hillston and Nevertire Solar Farms, all located within NSW.

The other participating councils are: Bayside, Burwood, Campbelltown, Canada Bay, Canterbury-Bankstown, Fairfield, Georges River, Hunters Hill, Inner West, Ku-ring-gai, Lane Cove, Liverpool, Mosman, North Sydney, Parramatta, Port Stephens, Randwick, Ryde, Singleton, Sutherland, Tamworth, Waverley, Willoughby and Woollahra.

SSROC was advised by Sourced Energy, Next Energy, Allens and Procure Group.

Image: The 132MW Nevertire Solar Farm

/Public Release. View in full here.