La Trobe celebrates Australia Day Awards

Congratulations to all La Trobe alumni, current and former staff members who were recognised with an Australia Day Award this year.

Our own Vice-Chancellor, Professor John Dewar AO, was recognised as an Officer of the Order of Australia in recognition of his distinguished service to education through leadership roles in the universities’ sector, and to professional organisations.

Other La Trobe recipients included Dr Clare Wright OAM and Emeritus Professor Richard Broome AM – both celebrated authors and historians – and sports physiotherapist, Professor Craig Purdam OAM.

Professor Dewar warmly congratulated all the current and former staff members, and alumni of La Trobe, who received Honours in 2020.

“It is a testament to the calibre of staff and graduates at La Trobe University that so many have been recognised as part of these prestigious Awards,” Professor Dewar said.

“Whether advancing knowledge in their field of expertise, or helping to make the world a fairer and more equitable place, every recipient has made a bold and valuable contribution to society.”

More than 20 staff members, alumni and former staff members received Australia Day Honours, including four current staff members. We would like to recognise and congratulate:

Officer of the Order of Australia (AO)
  • Professor John Dewar AO (staff member)
  • Professor Hal Hill AO (alumnus)
  • Ms Jacqueline McGill AO (alumna)
Member of the Order of Australia (AM)
  • Emeritus Professor Richard Broome AM (staff member)
  • Ms Elaine Carbines AM (alumna)
  • Professor John Fitzgerald AM (former staff member)
  • Dr Erica Frydenberg AM (alumna)
  • Ms Alana Johnson AM (alumna)
  • Ms Colleen Pearce AM (alumna)
Medal of the Order of Australia (OAM)
  • Ms Tasneem Chopra OAM (alumna)
  • Ms Carly Findlay OAM (alumna)
  • The Honourable Sherryl Garbutt OAM, JP (alumna)
  • Ms Linda George OAM (alumna)
  • Ms Sandra Jeffs OAM (alumna)
  • Mr Russell Kerr OAM (alumnus)
  • Professor Craig Purdam OAM (staff member)
  • Professor Clare Wright OAM (staff member)
Public service medal (PSM)
  • Ms Clare Douglas PSM (alumna)
  • Ms Noelene Duff PSM (alumna)
Conspicuous Service Medal (CSM)
  • Lieutenant Peter Asimakis CSM (alumnus)
Australian Police Medal (APM)
  • Mr Peter Brigham APM (alumnus)
  • Mr David Jones APM (alumnus)
Ambulance Service Medal (ASM)
  • Mr Kenneth Whittle ASM (alumnus)

/Public Release. View in full here.