La Trobe Teachers Recognised For Excellence

La Trobe University teachers have been recognised in the prestigious Australian Awards for University Teaching (AAUT) announced at the 2024 Universities Australia summit in Canberra.

La Trobe has received national recognition for teaching excellence, with three Citations for Outstanding Contributions to Student Learning and for development of authentic curricula and resources.

The commendations recognise and reward sustained contributions to, and innovations in, the quality of student learning experience.

La Trobe citation recipients are:

  • Ms Hosu Ryu, from the school of nursing and midwifery, for empowering future nurses and midwives to “see the person, not the diagnosis” when caring for people experiencing mental illness.
  • Dr Minh Huynh, Dr David Carey, Dr Matthew Varley, Dr Haresh Suppiah, and Prof Paul Gastin, for Marrying data analytics and an industry-based sports environment – an authentic, first of its kind, learner centred Masters Sports analytics program.
  • Dr Vipul Patel and Dr Haider Al Abadi, for Bringing civil engineering to life through innovative use of 360-degree videos, models and simulations to enhance student engagement and learning.

Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Academic) Professor Jessica Vanderlelie congratulated the recipients and was delighted that La Trobe’s commitment to excellence in teaching was recognised in this way.

“These citations are wonderful acknowledgement of the hard work of our teachers, and their passion and commitment to providing our students a world-class learning experience. It’s so important that the sector has the opportunity to recognise the outstanding impact educators have on the experiences and outcomes of our students,” said Professor Vanderlelie.

/Public Release. View in full here.