Law Council congratulates Bret Walker AO SC

Law Council of Australia

The Law Council of Australia warmly congratulates past-LCA President, Mr Bret Walker AO SC, on his inclusion in the Australia Day 2021 Honours List as an Officer in the General Division.

It is an understatement to say Mr Walker AO SC is one of our finest legal minds and so richly deserving of this Honour. His service to the legal profession is nothing short of distinguished.

Mr Walker AO SC served as the President of the NSW Bar Association, President of the Law Council of Australia (1997- 8), Chairman of LCA National Criminal Law Liaison Committee and Governor of the Law Foundation of NSW and was also appointed as the first Independent National Security Legislation Monitor.

The Law Council congratulates all members of the legal profession whose contribution to the law has been acknowledged in the Australia Day Honours list.

Officer of Australia (AO) The Hon Trevor Riley, QC

Member of Australia (AM) Professor Ronald Bartsch

Mr Hugh Bradley

Mr William D’Apice

Ms Sarah Matheson

Emeritus Professor Wilfrid Prest

Mr Christopher Webster

Mr Daryl Williams

Medal of Australia (OAM) Ms Theodora Ahilas

Mr Timothy Bourne

Ms Azmeena Hussain

Mr Patrick Tehan QC

Mr Patrick Street

Ms Rosalind Williams

/Public Release.