Mayors commit to clean, local jobs

Cities Power Partnership | Climate Council


OVER FORTY mayors and councillors from across the country have today released a joint statement committing to economic recovery solutions that create jobs and tackle climate change.

The mass commitment to a sustainable economic recovery aims to support industries and sectors that invest in a zero carbon future, along with driving strong economic recovery for communities hit hard by twin climate and COVID-19 crises.

City of Ryde Mayor, Jerome Laxale said all councils must play a role in sustainable economic recovery and climate change.

“Be fires, floods or covid-19, local governments have been at the forefront to the response of economic recovery,” said Mayor Laxale.

“Local governments across Australia can lead communities through a zero carbon recovery by prioritising local jobs, building sustainable infrastructure and investing in renewables.”

Blue Mountains City Council Mayor, Mark Greenhill, whose community continues to feel the impacts of the horrific Gosper’s mountain fire, said the community was crying out for solutions that would give a much-needed boost to the local economy and safeguard against future climate shocks.

“As mayor of a community hit by last season’s catastrophic bushfires, which were supercharged by climate change, it’s extremely disappointing to see that climate remains a glaringly missing piece on the Federal agenda,” said Mayor Greenhill.

“The Blue Mountains community, which is heavily dependent on tourism dollars, has largely been cut off since October 2019. Some people simply cannot afford to rebuild their homes, and many have lost their jobs. We can’t pay the price of inaction much longer.

“That’s why I am standing alongside mayors from across the country to usher in job-creating, clean energy solutions that transition our economy away from the key drivers of the climate crisis, like coal and gas, and make communities like mine stronger and more resilient – it’s crucial.”

The joint statement, outlines eight solutions from renewable energy through to sustainable transport that put local governments on a practical, jobs-rich path to future-proof cities, reduce energy costs and create more comfortable homes and workplaces.


Full list of 41 signatories to joint statement:

NEW SOUTH WALES (18 mayors / councillors)

Albury City Council, Mayor Kevin Mack

Bellingen Shire Council, Mayor Dominic King

Blue Mountains City Council, Mayor Mark Greenhill

Byron Shire Council, Mayor Simon Richardson

Central Coast Council, Mayor, Lisa Matthews

Dubbo Regional Council, Deputy Mayor Stephen Lawrence

Georges River Council, Mayor Kevin Green

Inner West Council, Mayor Darcy Byrne

Lane Cove Council, Mayor Pam Palmer

Lismore City Council, Councillor Elly Bird

City of Newcastle, Lord Mayor Nuatali Nelmes

Parkes Shire Council, Mayor Ken Keith

Randwick City Council, Mayor Danny Said

City of Ryde, Mayor Jerome Laxale

Shellharbour City Council, Mayor Marianne Saliba

City of Sydney, Lord Mayor Clover Moore

Tweed Shire, Mayor Chris Cherry

Wagga Wagga City Council, Mayor Greg Conkey

QUEENSLAND (5 mayors / councillors)

Brisbane City Council, Lord Mayor Adrian Schrinner

Bundaberg Regional Council, Mayor Jack Dempsey

Cairns Regional Council, Mayor Bob Manning

Douglas Shire Council, Councillor Abigail Noli

Noosa Shire Council, Councillor Brian Stockwell

VICTORIA (6 mayors/councillors)

City of Ballarat, Deputy Mayor Belinda Coates

Baw Baw Shire Council, Councillor Mikaela Power

Mornington Peninsula Shire, Mayor Sam Hearn

Stonnington City Council, Mayor Steven Stefanopoulos

Rural City of Wangaratta, Mayor Dean Rees

City of Yarra, Misha Coleman Mayor

SOUTH AUSTRALIA (5 mayors / councillors)

City of Adelaide, Lord Mayor Sandy Verschoor

Alexandrina Council, Mayor Keith Parkes

City of Charles Sturt, Mayor Angela Evans

Mount Barker District Council, Ann Ferguson, Mayor

The City of Mitcham, Mayor Heather Holmes-Ross

WESTERN AUSTRALIA (7 mayors / councillors)

Shire of Augusta-Margaret River, Councillor Naomi Godden

Town of Bassendean, Mayor Renée McLennan

City of Bayswater, Mayor Dan Bull

City of Cockburn, Mayor Logan K Howlett

City of Fremantle, Mayor Brad Pettitt

Town of Victoria Park, Mayor Karen Vernon

City of Vincent, Mayor Emma Cole

/Public Release.