National Library of Australia Council Appointments

Mr Simpson has more than 30 years’ experience in the arts and law, specialising in intellectual property. He is currently special counsel of Simpsons Solicitors and founded the Arts Law Centre of Australia. He has served as the Chair of the Bundanon Trust Board and as a member of the Australian National Maritime Museum Council. Mr Simpson was made a Member of the Order of Australia (AM) for his service to the law and arts in 2011.

Ms Rosalie Rotolo-Hassan has had an extensive entrepreneurial career, having founded Bottega Rotolo in South Australia – a business which specialises in importing iconic European food and sourcing local Australian products. Ms Rotolo-Hassan is also an educator in the food industry and has worked with Qantas’ epiQure program to deliver a national series of master classes.

Dr Bennie Ng is a specialist hospital administrator with senior management and policy experience in Australia and overseas. He is currently the General Manager of Partnerships and Strategy at Healthscope and a Board Director at the Australian Digital Health Agency. He was previously Head of Social Policy at the Office of the Prime Minister and had responsibilities across health and hospitals, aged care, the disability sector and Indigenous affairs.

Mr Richard Price has had a significant career in the banking sector, including 25 years with Macquarie Group as an Executive Director in the investment banking group, providing strategic and financial advice to many of the leading companies in Australia. He has also demonstrated a strong commitment to the philanthropic sector, in particular as Chair and Deputy Chair of the Song Room, the national arts education organisation since 2003, in addition to his roles as Chair of the Fundraising Committee, a member of the Finance and Risk Committee and on the Government and Stakeholder Relations Committee. Mr Price has also pursued numerous strategic business initiatives in infrastructure, digital technology, agriculture and social impact investment, amongst others.

Professor Kent Anderson is an international lawyer and academic. He was previously Deputy Vice Chancellor of Community and Engagement at the University of Western Australia and Pro Vice Chancellor at the University of Adelaide and is the Director of the School of Culture, History and Language at the Australian National University College of Asia and the Pacific

Ms Janet Hirst has extensive experience in social policy and governance. She is a former Chief Executive Officer of the Ian Potter Foundation. Ms Hirst played a key role in establishing the Regional Women’s Advisory Council. She has also been a member of the Regional Australia Summit Steering Committee.

Mr Douglas Snedden has more than 30 years’ experience in finance, consulting and strategic management. He has most recently worked as Managing Director of Australian Business at consulting firm Accenture. He is currently the Chair of Isentia Group Limited, the Chris O’Brien Lifehouse and Odyssey House.

Ms Alice Wong has almost 40 years of banking experience in Australia and internationally. She is currently an advisor to the Board of Bangarra Group and has also been a member of the Prime Minister’s Reference Group for the National Asian Languages and Studies in Schools Program.

For more information about the Library visit:

Media contact

/Public Release. View in full here.