National recognition for State’s exceptional emergency services leaders

  • Four WA emergency services personnel recognised in King’s Birthday Honours
  • Awards acknowledge the distinguished contribution of innovators, mentors and educators.

Emergency Services Minister Stephen Dawson has congratulated four Western Australian emergency services personnel who have been recognised in the King’s Birthday Honours.

The highest emergency services honours have been awarded to these four inspiring emergency services leaders who stepped up during some of Western Australia’s most devastating natural disasters.

The King’s Birthday 2024 Honours List included three Australian Fire Service Medals (AFSM) and an Emergency Services Medal (ESM). The medals have been awarded to a Department of Fire and Emergency Services (DFES) District Officer, two DFES Station Officers and a volunteer firefighter.

The full list of recipients can be found at

2024 Australian Fire Service Medal recipients:

  • Dr Gregory Henry has been a driving force for enhancing firefighting capabilities during his almost 30-year career on the frontline. As a career firefighter, his passion for community safety led to the procurement of Fognails, an innovative tool used to fight structure fires that can absorb heat from flames and smoke through its mist. Gregory is highly skilled in complex rescues and has been deployed to assist with recovery efforts for several large-scale bushfires across the State. He also uses his wide-ranging skills and expertise to upskill the next generation of career and volunteer firefighters as an instructor at the DFES Academy.
  • David Holland is a member of two volunteer brigades, Witchcliffe Bush Fire Brigade and Witchcliffe Volunteer Fire and Rescue Service and, in his 20 years in emergency services, he has attended over 250 incidents. David is well respected in his community and has played an integral role in helping people rebuild after some of the South West’s most devastating bushfires. David also manages bushfire brigades and fire control officers in the Shire of Augusta Margaret River, one of the State’s most active fire districts.
  • Darren Martin is a Station Officer at Perth Fire Station, described by his peers as a devoted leader and mentor with a passion for prioritising mental health. Having served as a firefighter for more than three decades and in a leadership role for 21 years, Darren has used his understanding of the demanding firefighting profession to provide an exceptional level of support to his colleagues, particularly when responding to challenging and confronting incidents. Darren often goes above and beyond the call of duty to ensure his colleagues’ wellbeing, fostering a culture where his team feels valued and supported.

2024 Emergency Services Medal recipient:

  • Glenn Hall’s exceptional leadership in some of the State’s most challenging natural disasters has gained him the respect of his community and colleagues. His 30 years’ experience began as a State Emergency Service (SES) volunteer and, now as District Officer, Glenn has become a mentor to his colleagues. He has managed many complex incidents and was appointed Incident Controller for Tropical Cyclone Seroja in 2021 and the Kimberley floods in 2023, also deploying to assist other communities around Australia including the 2022 Lismore Floods and to the Northern Territory when the Victoria Highway flooded in 2023.

As stated by Emergency Services Minister Stephen Dawson:

“On behalf of the Cook Government and all Western Australians, I congratulate these four highly regarded individuals who have gone above and beyond in their careers to protect and serve their local communities.

“The Australian Fire Service Medal and Emergency Service Medals are a reflection of the outstanding service and contribution they have made to the preparation, response and recovery of emergencies in Western Australia.

“I am incredibly proud of the dedication and hard work shown by each of today’s recipients in the King’s Birthday Honours who have together served a combined 110 years in emergency services.”

/Public Release. View in full here.