New appointments to the National Science and Technology Council

Dept of Industry, Science and Resources

Three prominent expert Australian scientists have been appointed to the Government’s leading advisory council on science and technology.

Professor Mahananda Dasgupta, Professor Reuben Bolt and Professor Mark Hutchinson have been appointed to the National Science and Technology Council for a three-year term each.

These appointments will increase the diversity of experience and perspectives on the NSTC and support its mission to provide timely and tangible advice to government on key policy objectives.

Professor Dasgupta is an international leader in accelerator-based nuclear fusion and fission. She is also the first woman to be tenured in the Research School of Physics at the Australian National University.

Professor Dasgupta’s expertise in nuclear physics including complex quantum interactions, will help the NSTC advise the Government on growing Australia’s research and industry capabilities in critical technology areas.

Professor Bolt is the first Indigenous Australian appointed to NSTC. A proud Yuin man with more than 20 years’ experience in the higher education sector, Professor Bolt will bring expertise in health and epidemiology to the NSTC, as well as his experience as an Indigenous leader to elevate First Nations knowledge and knowledge systems.

Professor Hutchinson is an Australian leader in translating fundamental science discoveries into economic value, and from 2021 to 2023 he was the President of Science & Technology Australia which represents 110,000 scientists.

Professor Hutchinson will provide the NSTC with advice on research commercialisation and medical technologies.

Professor Bolt and Professor Hutchinson will commence their appointments filling current vacancies. Professor Dasgupta will commence her appointment on 18 February 2024.

The Council is Chaired by the Prime Minister, with the Minister for Industry and Science as Deputy Chair. Australia’s Chief Scientist, Dr Cathy Foley AO PSM, is the Executive Officer.

/Public Release. View in full here.