New Chair Appointed To Independent Planning Commission


Mr Andrew Mills has been appointed as the new Chair of the Independent Planning Commission replacing outgoing Chair Professor Mary O’Kane who has completed her maximum term on the Commission.

Mr Mills has 40 years of experience in a wide range of senior government, accounting, legal and academic roles.

He is currently the Chair of the Financial Reporting Council, Chair of Cemeteries & Crematoria NSW and a Principal Fellow/Associate Professor at the University of Melbourne Law School. He is a current member of the Board of Taxation and was previously the Second Commissioner of Taxation and a member of the Executive of the Australian Taxation Office.

Mr Mills was appointed as a Commissioner with the Independent Planning Commission in February 2023 and has been a member of its Risk and Compliance Committee since 2020.

Mr Mills was selected following an independent recruitment and selection process and his appointment was endorsed by Cabinet.

The Independent Planning Commission plays an integral role in the state’s planning system, bolstering its integrity and ensuring complex planning decisions are put through independent and rigorous review processes.

Minister Scully said Mr Mills was an outstanding appointment for the critical role, and applauded Professor O’Kane for her contribution and achievements during her period as Commission Chair.

Minister for Planning and Public Spaces Paul Scully said:

“The Independent Planning Commission plays an important role in the NSW planning system and I welcome the appointment of Mr Andrew Mills as its new Chair.

“He has an enormous depth of experience in governance, regulation and compliance in both the public and private sectors, and he has the leadership and management skills required for leading our independent consent authority for state significant development.

“On behalf of the Government I would also like to thank outgoing Chair, Professor Mary O’Kane for her distinguished service while leading the Commission. I would also like to congratulate her on her recent appointment as Chair of the Board of the Australian Energy Market Operator (AEMO).

“She has built a high degree of trust in the planning system by continually championing integrity and public engagement.”

/Public Release. View in full here.