NTEU welcomes release of Dr Kylie Moore-Gilbert

The National Tertiary Education Union (NTEU) welcomes the release overnight of Australian academic Dr Kylie Moore-Gilbert from an Iranian prison.

Dr Moore-Gilbert was arrested and imprisoned over two years ago on seemingly baseless charges of espionage.

NTEU National President Dr Alison Barnes said today:

“We thank the Australian Government for the diplomatic work involved in obtaining Dr Moore-Gilbert’s release, and acknowledge the unrelenting support from her family and friends to pressure governments to achieve this outcome.”

“Our members and supporters at every university in Australia will be greatly relieved to hear this news.”

NTEU University of Melbourne Branch President Steve Adams said today:

“The news of Kylie’s release is wonderful. A joyous day for her family, friends and colleagues. Our congratulations to all who have supported Kylie through her ordeal and have worked towards her release.”

media release, Kylie Moore-Gilbert

Related Blogs:
ACT Division,NSW Division,NT Division,Vic Division,WA Division,SA Division,Qld Division,Tas Division,Australian Catholic University,University of Adelaide,Australian Defence Force Academy,Australian National University,Federation University Australia,Batchelor Institute of Indigenous Tertiary Education,Bond University,University of Canberra,Charles Darwin University,Central Queensland University,Charles Sturt University,Curtin University of Technology,Deakin University,Edith Cowan University,Flinders University,Griffith University,James Cook University,La Trobe University,Macquarie University,University of Melbourne,Monash University,Murdoch University,University of Notre Dame Australia,University of Newcastle,University of New South Wales,Queensland University of Technology,RMIT University,Southern Cross University,Swinburne University of Technology,University of Sydney,University of New England,University of Queensland,University of South Australia,University of the Sunshine Coast,University of Southern Queensland,University of Technology Sydney,University of Western Australia,Western Sydney University,Victoria University,University of Wollongong,edXpress,Navitas

/Public Release. View in full here.