Queensland Branch Committee members committed to community pharmacy future

The Pharmacy Guild of Australia, Queensland today confirmed its new Branch Committee Member Elects* following the completion of stage one elections.

Branch President, Chris Owen thanked all those who had nominated and taken part in the election and said there had been very little change in the make-up at the Branch Committee level, with one new Member Elect joining the Committee from Central Queensland.

“I’d like to formally congratulate and welcome Jess Burrey for her election as a Member Elect for the Central Queensland District,” Mr. Owen said.

“Jess has been a Pharmacist for 18 years, having graduated from The University of Queensland in 2005 with a bachelor’s degree in pharmacy. She also has obtained a Graduate Certificate in Business from The University of Southern Queensland,” said Mr. Owen. “She is currently undertaking training as part of the Queensland Community Pharmacy Scope of Practice Pilot.

“Jess has been working in community pharmacy in Emerald for 15 years and has been a Pharmacy Owner for eight years.

“Ms. Burrey is also involved in several not-for-profit businesses and is passionate about building and maintaining the viability of rural health. She is particularly interested in mentoring and developing early career pharmacists,” Mr. Owen said.

“I’d also like to thank and recognise the efforts of Andy Hawken, who was the previous Committee Member for Central Queensland and who did not seek re-election,” said Mr. Owen.

“Andy, Proprietor of Dysart Pharmacy, has served with distinction on the Committee since his election in 2020. We wish Andy all the very best for the future as he continues to provide fantastic quality of care to his patients in Dysart.

“Committee members are integral to representing the membership of The Pharmacy Guild; our success would not be possible without the work carried out by Members of the Committee.”

Chris Owen, Branch President, was re-elected as the Branch Committee member for the Brisbane region. Other Reelected Branch Committee Members for the Brisbane region include Kos Sclavos AM, Rick Xynias, Amanda Seeto, and Fiona Watson.

Re-elected Branch Committee Members across Queensland include Cate Whalan (North Queensland), Lucy Walker (South West Queensland), James Lester (Sunshine Coast), and Chris Constantinou (Gold Coast).

Queensland Branch Committee Members can nominate for Branch and National leadership positions between 17 June and 1 July as part of stage two, Election of Branch Office Bearers.

/Public Release. View in full here.