Return of SA travel welcomed


Mayor Darriea Turley AM has welcomed the reinstatement of the NSW Cross Border Corridor which will allow locals to once again travel to South Australia.
The announcement was made on Friday and includes the local government area of Broken Hill and townships of Silverton, Manna Hill, Olary, Tikalina, and Cockburn.
Mayor Turley said the change in restrictions would be welcomed by locals for a variety of reasons.
“Adelaide is our closest metropolitan centre and a key location for the people of Broken Hill,” said Mayor Turley.
“We’re quite reliant on Adelaide in the fields of health and education, so I share the community’s relief in seeing the border reopen.
“And of course, there’s always the family aspect; I have no doubt a lot of families will be very grateful to finally reunite with the many ex-locals who live in Adelaide.
“I encourage everyone to travel safely over the next few weeks and stay vigilant in regard to COVID-19 precautions.”
Residents are required to have had at least one vaccination to enter SA, and Cross Border Travel Registration may be required depending on your planned travel and/or travel history.

Meanwhile information on travel between Broken Hill and Victoria can be found here:

/Public Release. View in full here.

You might also like