Universities Australia Board Appointment

Professor Zlatko Skrbis, Vice-Chancellor and President of Australian Catholic University, has been appointed to the Universities Australia Board for a two-year term, commencing today.

Professor Skrbis is a respected leader and advocate for higher education, leading ACU since 2021 and holding senior positions at Monash University and The University of Queensland prior to that.

Professor Skrbis replaces outgoing Board member Professor Steve Chapman.

Universities Australia Chair Professor David Lloyd said Professor Skrbis was joining the Board at a crucial time for the sector.

“On behalf of the Board, I’d like to welcome Professor Skrbis as we navigate this important reform period,” Professor Lloyd said.

“His experience and knowledge will be invaluable as we work with government and all parliamentarians to bring certainty and stability to the university sector.

“This includes bringing Professor Mary O’Kane and the Accord panel’s vision for a bigger, stronger higher education system to life – for the benefit of Australia and all Australians.

“I’d like to sincerely thank Professor Steve Chapman for his considerable contribution to Universities Australia over four years and for his dedication to higher education both in Australia and the United Kingdom over a long and successful career.”

Universities Australia Board of Directors:

  • Professor David Lloyd (Chair) – Vice-Chancellor and President, University of South Australia
  • Professor Margaret Sheil AO (Deputy Chair) – Vice-Chancellor and President, Queensland University of Technology
  • Professor Attila Brungs – Vice-Chancellor and President, University of New South Wales
  • Professor Carolyn Evans – Vice-Chancellor and President, Griffith University
  • Professor Renée Leon PSM – Vice-Chancellor and President, Charles Sturt University
  • Professor Pascale Quester – Vice-Chancellor and President, Swinburne University of Technology
  • Mr Luke Sheehy – Chief Executive Officer, Universities Australia
  • Professor Adam Shoemaker – Vice-Chancellor and President, Victoria University
  • Professor Zlatko Skrbis – Vice-Chancellor and President, Australian Catholic University

/Public Release. View in full here.