Winners at 2023 WA Nursing and Midwifery Excellence Awards

  • WA’s Nurse of the Year announced as Ms Sandra Vinciguerra
  • Regional cancer treatment service takes out top team award
  • Two new names added to State’s Lifetime Achievement Honour Roll

Nurses and midwives across Western Australia have been celebrated for their outstanding contribution to the public health system at the 2023 WA Nursing and Midwifery Excellence Awards (WANMEA) Gala Ball.

The Awards – now in its 19th year – recognises more than 43,000 highly skilled nursing and midwifery workforce working across the State in public, private and non-government sectors.

This year’s awards were presented across 13 categories, representing a wide range of roles performed by nurses and midwives in diverse settings across WA’s health system.

The highly coveted Nurse of the Year award was presented to Ms Sandra Vinciguerra from the North Metropolitan Health Service Public Health Program.

Sandra was recognised for her work in the COVID-19 Vaccination Program in which she has provided more than 600 vaccinations, from the local park to remote areas across WA.

She has been described as an excellent clinician who has fostered a special rapport with vulnerable and diverse communities.

The WACHS TeleChemotherapy team was the proud recipient of the Excellence in Person Centred Care Award.

Team members were recognised for caring for around 330 patients, providing more than 2,000 treatments since the service began.

TeleChemotherapy is a nurse-led model of care which allows staff to provide culturally appropriate treatment at local health services, supported by specialist clinicians in metropolitan areas.

The award-wining service also allows people to stay close to home while receiving their treatment.

There were two additions to the WANMEA Lifetime Achievement Honour roll this year.

This prestigious honour was presented to Anne Bourke, Executive Director of Perth Children’s Hospital Clinical Nurse Immunisation Services and Professor Leanne Monterosso, Chair of Nursing at St John of God Hospital and The University of Notre Dame.

Comments attributed to Health Minister Amber-Jade Sanderson:

“These awards provide an opportunity to publicly recognise and celebrate the achievements of our nurses and midwives.

“They play an integral role in our health system and are at the forefront of providing the essential care and support people require through various stages of their life.

“All of the finalists and winners should be proud of their achievements – they make a difference in the lives of Western Australians every day.”

More details about the each of the 2023 WANMEA winners is available at

/Public Release. View in full here.