Council Welcomes 11 New Citizens To Hawkesbury

Citizenship Ceremony May 2024 - new citizens 1

Hawkesbury City Council recently held a special citizenship ceremony on 21 May to welcome 11 new citizens to the Hawkesbury.

The citizenship ceremony was held at the Council Chambers, with people from the United Kingdom, New Zealand, Thailand, Peru, Belgium, and the Irish Republic taking the citizenship pledge.

The Mayor of Hawkesbury, Councillor Sarah McMahon was delighted to welcome the new citizens as part of the Hawkesbury community. Deputy Mayor Councillor Barry Calvert and Councillors Shane Djuric, Mary Lyons-Buckett, Amanda Kotlash, Jill Reardon, Paul Veigel, Danielle Wheeler and Nathan Zamprogno also attended the event.

“Citizenship ceremonies provide us with the chance to promote and recognise active citizenship in our community,” Mayor McMahon said.

“Active citizenship is about people getting involved in our local community and involved in democracy at all levels, and displaying values such as respect, inclusion and helping others.

“This week is National Volunteer Week. We have many wonderful volunteers in the Hawkesbury, and we encourage our new citizens to also become active in various ways, perhaps volunteering for a local community organisation, school, sports group, charity, emergency services, or at Council facilities such as the Community Nursery, Bushcare, Museum, Gallery, and Libraries.”

/Public Release. View in full here.