Disaster assistance extended following Northern and central-western Queensland flooding

Minister for Police and Corrective Services and Minister for Fire and Emergency Services The Honourable Mark Ryan

Disaster assistance has been extended to more flood-affected communities after the Northern and Central-Western Queensland event during April and May.

The assistance is made available through the jointly funded Commonwealth-State Disaster Recovery Funding Arrangements.

Federal Minister for Emergency Management, Senator the Hon Murray Watt said heavy rain across multiple days left widespread damage throughout Northern and Central-Western Queensland.

“The Croydon, Lockhart River, Northern Peninsula Area, Torres Strait Island and Wujal Wujal councils now have access to funding to repair essential public assets damaged during the deluge and resulting flooding,” Minister Watt said.

“In addition, Lockhart River has also been activated to help with the costs of clean-up and counter disaster operations following the event between 21 April and 12 May 2022.

“We want to ensure anyone who is affected by these wild weather events is given access to the financial support they need to recover.

“This disaster season has been unusually long, with severe weather lashing Queensland months after the 2021-2022 period was expected to conclude.”

Queensland Minister for Fire and Emergency Services Mark Ryan said 24 local government areas (LGAs) have now been activated for DRFA assistance following the widespread flooding across much of the top end of the state.

“Nine natural disasters have swept across Queensland in the 2021-22 disaster season, resulting in 127 DRFA activations, 66 of Queensland’s 77 LGAs impacted by these events and three never seen before extraordinary disaster packages totalling more than $2 billion,” Minister Ryan said.

“Support requested will continue to be provided, as many areas face a long road to recovery after being hit time and time again.”

In response to the Northern and Central-Western Queensland rainfall and flooding event from 21 April – 12 May, DRFA assistance has been activated for Barcaldine, Barcoo, Blackall-Tambo, Boulia, Burdekin, Carpentaria, Charters Towers, Cloncurry, Cook, Croydon, Douglas, Flinders, Hope Vale, Lockhart River, Longreach, McKinlay, Mornington, Northern Peninsula, Palm Island, Richmond, Torres Strait Island, Whitsunday, Winton and Wujal Wujal.

Information on disaster assistance can be found on the Queensland Reconstruction Authority’s website at www.qra.qld.gov.au

/Public Release. View in full here.