Disaster Assistance Extended Following Severe Flooding In NSW 4 April

Minister for Emergency Management and National Recovery and Resilience, Minister for Regionalisation, Regional Communications and Regional Education

Disaster assistance is now available in the Lake Macquarie and Strathfield Local Government Areas (LGAs) following severe storms and flooding from 22 February 2022.

Assistance is being provided through the jointly funded Commonwealth-State Disaster Recovery Funding Arrangements (DRFA).

Minister for Emergency Management and National Recovery and Resilience, Senator the Hon Bridget McKenzie said this flood event continues to impact residents across New South Wales.

“The recovery phase is underway and we continue to stand shoulder to shoulder with all of our affected communities throughout their recovery journey, which we know is going to take time,” Minister McKenzie said.

New South Wales Minister for Emergency Services and Resilience and Minister for Flood Recovery Steph Cooke MP said the focus is on rebuilding impacted communities and providing immediate support to all who are affected by the floods.

“Extending the disaster assistance ensures flood-affected communities can move swiftly into the recovery phase and get back to a sense of normality as soon as possible,” Ms Cooke said.

Disaster assistance is now available in the following 60 LGAs in New South Wales:

Armidale, Ballina, Bayside, Bega, Bellingen, Blacktown, Blue Mountains, Byron, Camden, Campbelltown, Canterbury Bankstown, Central Coast, Cessnock, Clarence Valley, Coffs Harbour, Cumberland, Dungog, Eurobodalla, Fairfield, Georges River, Glen Innes Severn, Goulburn Mulwaree, Hawkesbury, Hornsby, Inner West, Kempsey, Kiama, Ku-ring-gai, Kyogle, Lake Macquarie, Lismore, Lithgow, Liverpool, Maitland, MidCoast, Mid-Western, Muswellbrook, Nambucca, Newcastle, Northern Beaches, Parramatta, Penrith, Port Macquarie Hastings, Port Stephens, Queanbeyan-Palerang, Richmond Valley, Ryde, Shellharbour, Shoalhaven, Singleton, Snowy Monaro, Strathfield, Sutherland, Tenterfield, The Hills, Tweed, Upper Hunter, Wingecarribee, Wollondilly, Wollongong.

The support may include:

  • Help for eligible people whose homes or belongings have been damaged (eligibility criteria apply)
  • Support for affected local councils to help with the costs of cleaning up and restoring damaged essential public assets
  • Financial assistance for small businesses, primary producers and non-profit organisations, and
  • Freight subsidies for primary producers.

/Public Release. View in full here.