District announces recipients of 2024 Nursing and Midwifery Awards


Western NSW Local Health District (WNSWLHD) has announced the recipients of its 2024 Nursing and Midwifery Awards, who were recognised at a presentation dinner on Thursday 9 May.

Brooke Delaney receives WNSWLHD's Nurse of the Year award from senior leaders
WNSWLHD Executive Director Quality, Clinical Safety and Nursing Adrian Fahy, WNSWLHD Nurse of the Year Brooke Delaney, WNSWLHD Manager Nursing Policy, Practice and Clinical Standards Dominique Spork

The Awards acknowledge the passion, dedication and significant contribution nurses and midwives provide to patients and communities across Western NSW.

Adrian Fahy, WNSWLHD Executive Director Quality, Clinical Safety and Nursing, said he was delighted to have the opportunity to congratulate each award recipient, who were celebrated among colleagues and guests at the presentation evening.

“All eight recipients of this year’s Nursing and Midwifery Awards were truly deserving and I was thrilled to present them with their awards, as well as acknowledge all the nominees and those who received honourable mentions in each category,” Mr Fahy said.

“As always we were faced with the difficult task of selecting recipients in each category having received some wonderful nominations this year, but that’s a great problem to have.

Marli Sharah won WNSWLHD's Aboriginal Nurse/Midwife of the Year
WNSWLHD Aboriginal Nurse/Midwife of the Year Marli Sharah

“The recipients from our local award categories will now be put forward as nominees for the 2024 NSW Excellence in Nursing and Midwifery Awards.”

The District’s 2024 Nursing and Midwifery Award recipients in each category are:

  • Nurse of the Year: Brooke Delaney – Orange Health Service, Mental Health Intensive Care Unit
  • Midwife of the Year: Deanna Hall – Orange Health Service
  • Pauline Webster-Cox New Graduate Nurse of the Year: Violet Sultana – Orange Health Service, Dialysis Unit
  • New to Practice Midwife of the Year: Shay-Lee Spargo – Lachlan Health Service
  • Aboriginal Nurse/Midwife of the Year: Marli Sharah – Narromine Health Service
  • Nursing and Midwifery Leader of the Year: Caroline Staniforth – Dubbo Health Service, Mentoring in Midwifery Facilitator
  • Judith Meppem Senior Nursing and Midwife Leader of the Year: Luke Marks – Quality Clinical Safety and Nursing Directorate, Orange
  • Nursing/Midwifery Team of the Year: Bathurst Health Service Medical Ward

Mr Fahy said the evening’s events celebrated the efforts of these exceptional staff but was also an opportunity to recognise the achievements and dedication of the District’s entire nursing and midwifery workforce.

Shay-Lee Spargo won WNSWLHD's New to Practice Midwife of the Year Award
WNSWLHD New to Practice Midwife of the Year Shay-Lee Spargo

“In Western NSW Local Health District, we employ more than 3,300 nursing and midwifery staff, by far the greatest proportion of our workforce, and they work incredibly hard to deliver essential services in our hospitals, health centres and in community settings,” Mr Fahy said.

More details about the recipients and nominees in each category is available here.

/Public Release. View in full here.