Ellyse Perry injury update

All-rounder Ellyse Perry has been ruled out of the remainder of the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup after sustaining a hamstring injury against New Zealand yesterday.

Perry injured her right hamstring while attempting a run out during yesterday’s match and immediately left the field.

The severity of the injury means that she will also miss Australia’s Commonwealth Bank Tour of South Africa later this month.

Australian Team Doctor, Pip Inge said: “Ellyse sustained a high-grade right hamstring injury that is expected to keep her out of the game for a significant period of time.

“We are currently exploring management options and will continue to support Ellyse through her recovery.”

Head coach Matthew Mott praised Perry for the courage she has displayed throughout the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup and expressed confidence in the Australian squad’s ability to step up in her absence.

“Ellyse is a key member of our squad and has been for a long period of time and on a personal level we’re disappointed that she won’t have the opportunity to finish the tournament,” Mott said.

“She gives her absolute all every time she takes to the field for her country and that was evident again against New Zealand in the selfless manner in which she threw herself into her batting, bowling and fielding performances.

“We’re confident that we have enough depth in the squad to cover her batting and bowling and know whoever gets an opportunity will make a strong contribution.”

Perry will remain a member of Australia’s 15-player squad, with no changes to be made.

Australia travels to Sydney today ahead of Thursday’s semi-final at the Sydney Cricket Ground.

Australia ICC Women’s T20 World Cup squad

Meg Lanning – captain (Victoria)

Rachael Haynes – vice-captain (New South Wales)

Erin Burns (New South Wales)

Nicola Carey (Tasmania)

Ashleigh Gardner (New South Wales)

Alyssa Healy (New South Wales)

Jess Jonassen (Queensland)

Delissa Kimmince (Queensland)

Sophie Molineux (Victoria)

Beth Mooney (Queensland)

Ellyse Perry (Victoria)

Megan Schutt (South Australia)

Molly Strano (Victoria)

Annabel Sutherland (Victoria)

Georgia Wareham (Victoria)

ICC Women’s T20 World Cup

February 21 – vs India, Sydney Showground (7pm AEDT)

February 24 – vs Sri Lanka, WACA Ground (6pm AEDT)

February 27 – vs Bangladesh, Manuka Oval (7pm AEDT)

March 2 – vs New Zealand, Junction Oval (3pm AEDT)

March 5 – Semi-Final 1, SCG (3pm AEDT)

March 5 – Semi-Final 2, SCG (7pm AEDT)

March 8 – Final, MCG (6pm AEDT)

/Public Release. View in full here.