Guild Congratulates King’s Birthday Honours Recipients

The Pharmacy Guild of Australia has today congratulated community pharmacy identities who have been awarded with King’s Birthday Honours.

Two community pharmacists and a close friend of community pharmacy have been acknowledged in this year’s Awards.

They are Mr Robert Dean from Victoria, Mr Farag Gobran of NSW, and Professor John Skerritt from Victoria.

Mr Robert Dean OAM

Mr Dean is a community pharmacist and whose deep connection to his local community has been recognised through his Medal of the Order of Australia for “service to the community of Red Cliffs.”

For fifty years Mr Dean was the community pharmacist at Dean’s Pharmacy, Red Cliffs. He also an impressive record contributing to Red Cliffs Brigade of the Country Fire Authority, Red Cliffs Golf Club, Red Cliffs Benevolent Society, Red Cliffs Senior Citizens Club, Red Cliffs Apex Club and Meals on Wheels.

Mr Dean is a former Citizen of the Year for the Mildura Rural City Council.

Mr Farag Gobran OAM

Mr Gobran has been a community pharmacist since 1970, and is a currently a proprietor of Terry White Chemmart (Rothschild Ave Pharmacy) in Rosebery. Mr Gobran has been awarded as Medal of the Order of Australia of “services to youth, to aged care and to the Egyptian community.”

For over five decades Mr Gobran has served the Coptic Orthodox Church in various capacities. He is a founding member and former President of the Australian Egyptian Forum Council, the founding Chair and current Honorary Director of St Maurice Aged Care, and a founding Member and current Board Member of Exodus Youth Worx.

In 2023, Mr Gobran was the Australian Egyptian Forum Council’s Egyptian of the Year, and in 2022 received a Recognition of Sustained Achievement from the University of Sydney for 70 years of professional and community service.

Professor John Skerritt AM

Professor John Skerrit was previously the face of the Therapeutic Goods Administration from 2012-2023, and served as the Deputy Secretary Health Products Regulation Group in the Department of Health and Aged Care from 2015-2023.

Professor Skerritt has been recognised as a Member of the Order of Australia in the General Division for significant service to public health administration and governance, and scientific research.

Pharmacy Guild National President Professor Twomey said, “Professor Skerritt is a dear friend of the community pharmacy industry, having also served as Adjunct Professor of Pharmacy at the University of Canberra from 2013-2018.”

Professor Twomey congratulated this year’s award recipients and honoured all community pharmacists this King’s Birthday.

“This year’s award winners have shown dedication and commitment to public service, whether in community pharmacy, community engagement or public administration,” Professor Twomey said.

“Community pharmacists serve their patients every day, both inside and outside their practices. In particular, Mr Dean and Mr Gobran represent the best attributes of Australia’s community pharmacists: a deep and abiding commitment to patients throughout their geographical and cultural communities.

“I’d like to extend that acknowledgement to all our community pharmacists, their assistants and employees, many of whom are working on this King’s Birthday public holiday.”

/Public Release. View in full here.