Matchday Five Summary: IFCPF Asia Oceania Championships

Matchday five saw thunderstorms, goals, and massive results.

Read a summary of the day’s action below.

Undefeated is Forever

Men: India 0 – 6 Iran

Goalscorers: Amir Mahdi Rahim Abadi (3′, 42′), Hadi Khosheghbal (16′), Amirhossein Ghorbani (22′, 49′), Amin Rezaeibezminabadi (60+1′).

Iran were too good for India, the tournament favourites dominating proceedings throughout and scoring a total of four goals.

However, it was the best performance so far at the tournament for India and one that they will be incredibly proud of. They defended stoutly and created some opportunities of their own.

You can watch a replay of the game here.

India: 1. Deepak Kumar, 3. Mohammed Ajnas, 4. Naveen Malik, 5. Baliyan Nitin, 6. Pandiyarajan Govindaraj, 9. Sijo George (c), 10. Vineesh Madhuppilly Raman.

Substitutes not used: 7. Rupinder Singh, 8. Mohan Shyan, 11. N Vinay

Iran: 1. Babak Safarikourabbasloo, 3. Hadi Khosheghbal, 5. Mahdi Shokoohi Movaffagh, 7. Moslem Mehrabian (c) (11. Amin Rezaeibezminabadi 52′), 13. Amir Mahdi Rahim Abadi, 14. Amirhossein Ghorbani

Substitutes not used: 2. Yaser Rostami, 4. Shahab Rahimikandoleh, 6. Benham Arandi, 8. Hassan Safari, 9. Shamseddin Shahbazikeivanani, 10. Torabi Abbas, 12. Vahid Navvab

Women: CommBank ParaMatildas 6 – 0 Nepal

Goalscorers: Tamsin Colley (2′), Carly Salmon (4′, 16′), OG (8′), Annmarie De Uriarte (10′), Karina Grigorian (13′).

Australia got off to a fast start against Nepal, scoring six before the match was abandoned in the 18 thminute due to an electrical storm.

The CommBank ParaMatildas made a clear effort to play possession-based, passing football, culminating in some eye-catching team goals.

The match did not count towards competition points due to Nepal being unable to meet IFCPF classification requirements.

You can watch a replay of the game here.

Australia: 1. Carly Salmon (c), 4. Karina Grigorian, 5. Tamsin Colley, 8. Annmarie De Uriarte, 9. Rae Anderson

Substitutes not used: 2. Nicole Christodoulou, 3. Tahlia Blanshard, 6. Katelyn Smith, 7. Eloise Northam, 10. Georgia Beikoff

Nepal: 1. Nirmaya Magar, 5. Binu Thapa, 7. Sabina Parajuli, 9. Ranjana Dhami, 10. Rewati Karki, Jasmine Hose

Substitutes not used: None

A group photo of the CommBank ParaMatildas and Nepal in the changing rooms after their game on 8 November at IFCPF Asia Oceania Championships

Men: CommBank Pararoos 7 – 1 Japan

Goalscorers: Connor Bunce (13′, 19′, 20′, 57′), Daniel Campbell (15′), Kaylan Van Heer (50′ (p), 56′); Ryosuke Miura (26′)

This was a game that would be vitally important for the final standings, and it was Australia who came out of the blocks firing.

A seven-minute hattrick to Connor Bunce – including a stunning long-range strike, and a back post volley – in the first half got the ball rolling for the CommBank Pararoos.

Ryosuke Miura gave Japan a lifeline at 4-1 but the home side added to their lead in the second half, with a Kaylan van Heer brace and a fourth goal for Bunce making it 7-1 at full time.

You can watch a replay of the game here.

Australia: 2. Benjamin John Roche (14. Augustine Murphy 48′), 3. Kaylan Van Heer (11. Jeremy Boyce), 4. Alessandro La Verghetta (9. Luc Launder 60′), 5. Daniel Campbell (12. Benjamin Sutton 60′), 10. Connor Bunce, 13. Taj Lynch

1. Christian Tsangas (Benjamin Sutton 31′), 7. David Barber (c), 2. (Connor Bunce 38′), 8. Christian Bitsikas (11. Jeremy Boyce 31′), 9. Luc Launder, 14. Augustine Murphy

Substitutes not used: 1. Christian Tsangas, 6. Joshua Beekes, 8. Christian Bitsikas

Japan: 1. Hideyuki Yanagi, 2. Kenichiro Akahage (6. Yora Mori 53′), 3. Tetsuya Toda, 5. Ryosuke Miura (c), 8. Tatsuhiro Ura, 10. Yoshiki Kuno, 14. Taisei Taniguchi (Yamato Motonakano 47′)

Substitutes not used: 4. Hiroki Kameno, 11. Hiroto Kageyama, 12. Naoyoshi Henry Kagayama, 13. Riku Kono

/Public Release. View in full here.