Mitchell Marsh appointed Australian men’s T20 captain; ICC Men’s T20 World Cup squad…

Mitchell Marsh has been appointed captain of the Australian men’s T20 team and will lead the side at the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup.

The Cricket Australia Board this morning formalised Marsh’s appointment. He joins Pat Cummins as captains of the Australian men’s team across all formats.

Download photos of Mitch Marsh in Australia’s 2024 ICC Men’s T20 World Cup playing kit here.

The National Selection Panel (NSP) today named a provisional 15-player men’s squad for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup in the West Indies and the US.

Mitchell Marsh said: “It’s been an immense privilege to play for my country and now an even greater honour to lead the squad to a World Cup.

“I am extremely grateful to have such a good group of people in our players and staff. We have had some strong success in recent times and I am hopeful that will continue in what looks like a wide-open tournament.

“We take a very experienced group to the West Indies, I very much look forward to the challenge and working alongside Andrew (McDonald), the coaches, players and staff.”

Provisional Australian squad for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup:

Mitchell Marsh (Perth Scorchers/Fremantle Cricket Club) (c)

Ashton Agar (Perth Scorchers/University Cricket Club)

Pat Cummins (Sydney Thunder/Penrith Cricket Club)

Tim David (Hobart Hurricanes/Claremont-Nedlands Cricket Club)

Nathan Ellis (Hobart Hurricanes/ Lindisfarne Cricket Club)

Cameron Green (WA/Subiaco-Floreat Cricket Club)

Josh Hazlewood (NSW/St George Cricket Club)

Travis Head (Adelaide Strikers/Tea Tree Gully Cricket Club)

Josh Inglis (Perth Scorchers/Joondalup Cricket Club)

Glenn Maxwell (Melbourne Stars/Fitzroy Doncaster Cricket Club)

Mitchell Starc (Sydney Sixers/Manly Warringah Cricket Club)

Marcus Stoinis (Melbourne Stars/Subiaco Floreat Cricket Club)

Matthew Wade (Hobart Hurricanes/Clarence Cricket Club)

David Warner (Sydney Thunder/Randwick Petersham Cricket Club)

Adam Zampa (Melbourne Renegades/Sutherland Cricket Club)

Cricket Australia Chair Mike Baird said: “Mitchell has been an exemplary player and leader within the group for a long period of time.

“He has developed his captaincy in state and BBL cricket and now extends this leadership to international level. The Board looks forward to watching the team in the West Indies and wish them every success.”

Executive General Manager, High Performance and National Teams Ben Oliver said: “It has been pleasing to watch Mitch’s rise, particularly since his return to Test cricket last year, to further leadership opportunities.

“We welcome Mitch as the 12th Australian T20 men’s captain, following a long list of exceptional leaders within the history of Australian cricket.”

NSP Chair of Selectors George Bailey said: “This is an experienced squad with extensive World Cup experience that offers a variety of structures and covers the scenarios the panel believes will factor in the West Indies with the unique nature of the venues and our opponents.

“It’s great to have Ashton Agar back into the squad following a spate of unfortunate and untimely injuries.

“We believe Ashton can play a critical role in this tournament along with Marcus Stoinis, Glenn Maxwell, Cam Green and Mitch Marsh in complementing our front-line attack options.

“The batting options available allow a tailored approach to each venue and opponent.”

Bailey acknowledged some of the omissions from recent T20 sides.

“Steve Smith, Matt Short, Jason Behrendorff, Aaron Hardie, Spencer Johnson and Xavier Bartlett were all part of long conversations, along with several others, including Jake Fraser-McGurk who is yet to play T20 International cricket but continues to impress and is developing rapidly.

“Being constrained to a squad of 15 for World Cups is always a challenge given the different scenarios and options we’d like to cover.

“We will continue monitoring several players who have missed out on this preliminary squad and note that if we wish to change this squad, we have the option to do so over the coming weeks in accordance with ICC regulations.

“Ultimately the balance of the final 15 needs to provide the best chance of being successful in this campaign.”

HCLTech has again been announced as a team sponsor for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup, featuring on the sleeve of the men’s playing shirt and training apparel.

Note: The squad can be amended without ICC Event Technical Committee approval until 25 May 2024.

/Public Release. View in full here.