New Environmental Protection Authority Deputy Chair appointed

  • Ms Lee McIntosh appointed as Deputy Chair of Environmental Protection Authority
  • Strong background in all aspects of environmental law will help lead EPA into future
  • Environment Minister Stephen Dawson has today welcomed Lee McIntosh as Deputy Chair of the Environmental Protection Authority (EPA).

    The EPA Board is an independent Authority comprised of five members, which provides government with independent advice and environmental recommendations.

    Ms McIntosh was successful in her nomination as Member and Deputy Chair of the EPA Board for a term of five years beginning November 18, 2020 and will replace Robert Harvey who has been Deputy Chair for almost eight years.

    Ms McIntosh has more than 20 years’ experience practicing as an environmental lawyer.  She has extensive experience in corporate, government and community sectors, been active in several environmental law policy and reform initiatives, lectured and tutored in environmental law and worked across all areas of environmental law assessment and approvals.

    Ms McIntosh has also held roles on several government and community boards and provided advice on the environmental approval and social licence issues associated with some of Western Australia’s most significant projects.

    The EPA’s operations are governed by the Environmental Protection Act 1986 which stipulates an objective of the EPA is to ‘use its best endeavours to protect the environment’.

    Board members are appointed by the Governor of Western Australia, on the nomination of the Environment Minister.

    Recruitment for a replacement for outgoing Chair Dr Tom Hatton, who completed his five-year term this week, is underway.

    As stated by Environment Minister Stephen Dawson:

    “I welcome Lee McIntosh to the EPA Board. She brings a broad range of experience in environmental law and has a vast knowledge on environmental due diligence issues, heritage, offsets and assessment and approvals processes.

    “I also wanted to acknowledge and thank outgoing Chair Dr Tom Hatton and Deputy Chair Robert Harvey for the dedication and expertise they have brought to the Board in recent years.

    “In particular, of note was Dr Hatton’s leadership in overseeing changes in environmental impact assessment and policy that led to the EPA being recognised with an International Association for Impact Assessment award last year.”

    /Public Release. View in full here.