New President for ACAT

Australian Greens

Ms Mary-Therese Daniel, a current presidential member of the ACT Civil and Administrative Tribunal (ACAT), will be the Tribunal’s next President, Attorney-General Shane Rattenbury has announced.

Ms Daniel’s appointment follows a competitive selection process.

She brings a depth of experience to the role, having been appointed in 2012 as ACAT’s first full-time non-presidential member and promoted in 2015 to presidential member. Ms Daniel also served as Temporary President for an extended period in 2021.

An Australian National University graduate who has lived in Canberra during her working life, Ms Daniel joined ACAT with more than 15 years of diverse legal experience in government and private practice. This included roles with the Family Court of Australia, national firm MinterEllison, Legal Aid ACT, the ACT Office of the Director of Public Prosecutions and the ACT Government Solicitor, where she finished as a Principal Solicitor.

Ms Daniel’s seven-year appointment as President will begin on September 18, 2023, giving her responsibility for the orderly and prompt discharge of all ACAT business, and ensuring that its decisions are made according to law.

She succeeds the late Graeme Neate AM, who had served as ACAT President from January 2017 until his death in June 2023.

Attorney-General Rattenbury thanked presidential member Mr Geoffrey McCarthy, who has served as Temporary President in the interim.

/Public Release. View in full here.