Nominations For Australian Biosecurity Awards Open Soon

Department of Agriculture and Water Resources

Do you know an organisation or individual who goes above and beyond in protecting our nation from exotic pests and diseases?

Nominations for the Australian Biosecurity Awards open soon – now is the time to start thinking about a biosecurity champion you would like to nominate.

The awards celebrate those who have shown a commitment to supporting and promoting Australia’s biosecurity and the systems that underpin it.

These champions are primary producers implementing sound biosecurity practices, community groups protecting Australia from biosecurity threats, and those working on the front line to manage emergency pest and disease outbreaks.

Eileen Scott and Minister Murray Watt infront of a post of Australian Biosecurity Awards.

2023 Winner Emerita Professor Eileen Scott with Minister Murray Watt. Credit: DAFF

Recent winners include Emerita Professor Eileen Scott, a scholar and researcher who has taught and mentored numerous students in plant pathology, and Dr Richard Bradhurst, who developed the Australian Animal Disease Spread Model (AADIS) in close collaboration with DAFF.

Sharing their stories promotes the importance of biosecurity and encourages excellence and best practice in the biosecurity sector.

Need some inspiration? Read about last year’s winners and their important work.


/Public Release. View in full here.