Productivity Commission Appointments 21 June

Australian Treasury

The Albanese Government has appointed Mr Selwyn Button, Dr Alison Roberts and Mr Barry Sterland PSM as full‑time Commissioners to the Productivity Commission (PC) for five‑year terms.

The Government has also reappointed Dr Catherine de Fontenay as a full‑time Commissioner for another five‑year term.

These appointments will help the Commission deliver on its mission of raising Australia’s productivity performance and prosperity in a rapidly evolving economic environment.

Mr Button draws on several decades of experience in indigenous health, education and entrepreneurship. He will join the PC on 15 July from PwC Indigenous Consulting where he has been a Partner and Managing Director. Mr Button was previously Queensland’s Assistant Director‑General of Indigenous Education, CEO of the Queensland Aboriginal and Islander Health Council, and the Registrar of Indigenous Corporations. Mr Button is the Chair of Lowitja Institute.

Dr Roberts has more than 20 years’ experience in industry and health policy. She will join the PC on 18 September from her role as the inaugural Chief Executive Officer of Airlines for Australia & New Zealand. Dr Roberts also draws on experience as Executive Director of the Pharmaceutical Society of Australia, and serving in several board‑level roles, including in the South Eastern Melbourne Primary Health Network, the Victorian Responsible Gambling Foundation, and the Australian Dementia Network.

Mr Sterland has experience in economic, climate and energy policy. He will join the PC on 4 July from KPMG where he has been the National Lead & Global co‑lead of their Climate Policy Advisory. Mr Sterland was previously General Manager at AGL, and also served in Deputy Secretary‑level roles at the Treasury and the Department of Prime Minister and Cabinet, and as an Executive Director of the International Monetary Fund and Visiting Fellow at the Brookings Institution.

Dr de Fontenay’s first five‑year term as a full‑time Commissioner commenced in July 2019. She has worked on a range of matters including inquiries on carer leave, access to credit, aged care employment, supply chains, and children & family services. Dr de Fontenay previously held positions at the Melbourne Business School, Melbourne University, Stanford University, and New York University. She is the President of the Economic Society of Australia.

The Commission is Chaired by Ms Danielle Wood who commenced her five‑year term on 13 November 2023.

These appointments will refresh and renew the leadership of the independent Productivity Commission and help ensure it can be as strong and as effective as possible.

/Public Release. View in full here.