Rob Riley Memorial Prize winners announced

  • Rob Riley Memorial Prize awarded to Reilly Cockbain and Lailah Frazer
  • Prize recognises the highest achieving Aboriginal public school students

Two Western Australian top performing Aboriginal public school students have been named recipients of the 2023 Rob Riley Memorial Prize.

The Rob Riley Memorial Prize is awarded to the highest achieving Australian Tertiary Admission Rank (ATAR) and Vocational Education and Training (VET) Aboriginal students in public schools.

Education Minister Dr Tony Buti today announced Cape Naturaliste College graduate Reilly Cockbain as the 2023 recipient of the ATAR prize, and Melville Senior High School graduate Lailah Frazer as the 2023 VET prize winner.

Reilly studied Economics, Geography, Maths Applications, and English in Year 12, and also completed General Business Management and Enterprise.

After leaving Cape Naturaliste College, Reilly is taking a gap year in 2024 and has plans to travel. Reilly will be working in the interim and hopes to attend university next year but would like to see what inspires him on his travels to explore further.

Lailah completed certificate qualifications during her schooling in Aviation (Cabin Crew), Workplace Skills, Retail Cosmetics, and Skills for Work and Vocational Pathways. She was also awarded a VET Certificate of Excellence for Business and Financial Services and Information Communications Technology, and a Certificate of Distinction.

Since completing secondary school, Lailah has applied for a cadetship with the Western Australian Police Force and aspires to be an advocate and give back to the community.

Prize winners received $5,000 each to further their education and training. They also received a copy of Rob Riley’s biography and a certificate.

The Rob Riley Memorial Prize is named in honour of the late Aboriginal human rights advocate.

As stated by Education Minister Dr Tony Buti:

“Congratulations to Reilly and Lailah on being awarded the prestigious Rob Riley Memorial Prize.

“These highly-deserving recipients have shown dedication to their studies throughout their secondary schooling.

“I look forward to following their journeys as they embark on further education and training endeavours.”

/Public Release. View in full here.