Scholarships to upskill event managers in Regional NSW

Minister for Jobs, Investment, Tourism and Western Sydney Stuart Ayres said the initiative is part of the NSW Government’s $6 million Regional Conferencing Strategy and Action Plan, which includes a partnership with Meetings & Events Australia (MEA).

“The business events sector presents a major opportunity for the visitor economy of regional NSW, particularly as we steer our path to recovery,” Mr Ayres said.

“We know that the best way forward is to help to create more jobs and these scholarships will do exactly that – giving people the tools and extra support needed to kick-start their careers in the field of event management.

“I congratulate the 12 scholarship recipients who are already making valuable contributions to their local communities and wish them every success as they begin their diploma studies and continue their journeys in the events sector.”

MEA Chief Executive Officer Robyn Johnson said she was looking forward to welcoming the third intake of regional students at a time when creating skills is key to enhancing career opportunities.

“In the past year, we have seen a number of former scholarship students graduate with their MEA Diploma of Event Management with the skills gained from undertaking the course adding great value to their regions, which is a testament to this wonderful program,” Ms Johnson said.

The 12 recipients were selected by a panel, which included representatives from the NSW Government’s tourism and major events agency, Destination NSW, MEA and the six Destination Networks.

The MEA scholarship program recipients are:

  1. Aaron Bykerk – Albury
  2. James Rodgers – Branxton
  3. Joe Ann Williams – Nelson Bay
  4. Jumana Schriefer – Coffee Camp
  5. Kelly Brown – Burrill Lake
  6. Kersti Martin – Thirlmere
  7. Leesa Peck – Moonbi
  8. Magdalena Mager – Casino
  9. Miriam Hewson – Adelong
  10. Sara Wightman – Queanbeyan
  11. Shannan Botten – Broken Hill
  12. Stevie Smith – Cobargo

/Public Release. View in full here.