Teacher Recruitment Support Expanded Across NSW


The NSW Government is continuing to address the teacher shortage across NSW with a program helping schools recruit teachers in hard-to-staff areas to expand by 40%. A further 26 regional schools will now receive additional support to engage quality teachers, ensuring free, quality public education is provided to every student in NSW.

The Priority Recruitment Support program gives intensive recruitment assistance to schools with significant teacher staffing challenges.

The latest additions to the program cross the state from Bega to Bowral and Cobar to Casino, bringing the total number of schools receiving intensive support to 111.

Long-standing vacancies at these schools can now be advertised with a recruitment bonus of up to $20,000, and a relocation support package of up to $8000 for eligible teachers.

The program’s success is evident with 615 teachers placed in permanent positions in the past 12 months. Dubbo College alone has had 61 vacant positions filled across its three campuses while on the program.

Under the former Liberal National government, the teacher shortage reached crisis point with more than 3000 vacancies, resulting in an average 10,000 lessons missing a teacher every day and schools being forced to merge and cancel classes. While the teacher shortage has impacted schools across the board, the impact has been most significant in rural, regional and remote areas and parts of Sydney’s west and south-west.

The expansion of this program is one part of the Rural and Remote Education Implementation Plan that supports teachers wanting to teach outside major metropolitan areas.

Further to the recruitment support, the NSW Government is also offering tailored housing support to teachers in regional areas, cutting red tape for applicants and addressing maintenance issues faster.

Other incentives to work in NSW rural and remote schools include:

  • 50 to 90% rental subsidy
  • rural teacher Incentive (up to $30,000 per annum less value of Rental Subsidy, where applicable)
  • retention bonus ($5,000 per annum for up to 10 years)
  • experienced teacher Benefit ($10,000 per annum for up to 5 years)
  • stamp duty relief payment (a one-off payment up to $10,000).

An additional 11 metropolitan schools will also benefit from recruitment support under the program’s expansion.

Deputy Premier and Minister for Education and Early Learning Prue Car said:

“We are committed to providing teachers where they are needed the most to ensure every student has the same educational opportunities, no matter where they live.”

“Having a qualified teacher in front of every class is key to lifting student outcomes, and we are working hard to attract and retain teachers in areas where the teacher shortage is most acute.

“Labor was elected to fix the teacher shortage created by the former Liberal National government and this continues to be a key focus.”

Executive Director, Regional Rural and Remote Implementation, Dean White, said:

“The expansion of the Priority Recruitment Support program is one part of the Rural and Remote Education Implementation Plan that supports teachers wanting to teach outside major metropolitan areas.

“Combined with our other supports, these initiatives are giving teachers even more reason to experience the satisfaction and rewards that come with teaching in communities outside the major centres.”

Regional, rural and remote schools added to the program:

  • Bega High School
  • Bowral High School
  • Braidwood Central School
  • Casino High School
  • Cobar High School
  • Cootamundra High School
  • Deniliquin High School
  • Dubbo South Public School
  • Glen Innes High School
  • Goulburn High School
  • James Fallon High School
  • Jindabyne High School
  • Kooringal High School
  • Leeton High School
  • Macintyre High School
  • Merriwa Central School
  • Mount Austin High School
  • Narrandera High School
  • Orara High School
  • Oxley High School
  • Picton High School
  • Uralla Central School
  • Wellington High School
  • West Wyalong High School
  • Yawarra Community School
  • Young High School

/Public Release. View in full here.