Four Academy Fellows Elected To Royal Society

Elected to the Royal Society this year are Academy Fellows (from left) Professor Richard Hartley, Professor David Komander, Professor Douglas MacFarlane and Professor Ivan Marusic.

Four Fellows of the Australian Academy of Science are among 90 outstanding scientists to be elected to the Royal Society today, in recognition of their invaluable contributions to science.

Recognised as leaders in their fields, the Academy Fellows elected to the Royal Society are:

  • Professor Richard Hartley FAA FRS, from the Australian National University, elected for his scientific contributions to the field of computer vision and image understanding, which has resulted in a new area of research that led to the publication of hundreds of papers by many authors in the past decade
  • Professor David Komander FAA FRS, from the Walter and Eliza Hall Institute of Medical Research (WEHI), elected for his leadership in the field of ubiquitylation, a key molecular pathway derailed in inherited Parkinson’s disease
  • Professor Douglas MacFarlane FAA FTSE FRS from Monash University, elected for making extensive contributions to the field of materials chemistry, in particular the preparation and physical properties of new ionic materials
  • Professor Ivan Marusic FAA FTSE FRS, from the University of Melbourne, elected as an internationally leading figure in the field of fluid mechanics, particularly for his discovery of ‘superstructures’ and uncovering the key role these large-scale motions play in wall turbulence.

In fields spanning all areas of science and technology – from biochemistry to artificial intelligence – Fellows elected to the Royal Society this year are from around the world including Brazil, China, Japan, Mexico and Singapore.

Founded in the mid-17th century, the Royal Society is a Fellowship of many of the world’s most eminent scientists and is the oldest scientific academy in continuous existence.

/Public Release. View in full here.