Hundreds of WA schools benefiting from new science facilities

  • WA public schools open new state-of-the-art science classrooms
  • Facilities help students develop practical science skills during early years of schooling
  • More than 300 public schools have benefited from upgraded science facilities

More than 30 Western Australian public schools have opened new science classrooms this year to help primary school students develop important skills for the future.

Schools across the State have opened the doors on newly fitted out science classrooms for the 2024 school year, with Esperance Senior High School opening a $1.5 million STEM laboratory.

The $10.39 million primary school science classroom initiative involved 133 schools, building on a $12 million program to transform 200 existing primary school classrooms into science laboratories, completed in 2021. An additional $5 million was allocated to schools to purchase resources.

The newly fitted out classrooms may include benches and cupboards, flooring, sinks and troughs, splashbacks, pin-up boards, chairs, and desks dependent on the school needs.

The new facilities provide primary school students with practical science learning opportunities to prepare them for secondary school and beyond.

Since 2017, the State Government has invested more than$4.4 billion in building and upgrading schools across the State.

As stated by Education Minister Dr Tony Buti:

“I am proud to be delivering this Government’s key election commitment to transform science facilities in public schools across Western Australia.

“It is very important for students to develop practical science knowledge from a young age. Problem solving, creative thinking, research, and inquiry skills can be learnt in a science classroom and applied throughout all areas of education.

“This project is another example of the Cook Government’s commitment to ensuring WA public school students learn in the very best facilities and are well equipped to succeed in their future.”

Schools with new classrooms in 2024:

Bayswater Primary School

Beckenham Primary School

Beechboro Primary School

Bibra Lake Primary School

Brentwood Primary School

Carine Primary School

Churchlands Primary School

Coogee Primary School

Cottesloe Primary School

East Beechboro Primary School

East Kenwick Primary School

Eaton Primary School

Eddystone Primary School

Falcon Primary School

Hollywood Primary School

Illawarra Primary School

Kardinya Primary School

Kelmscott Primary School

Leda Primary School

Mullaloo Heights Primary School

Neerigen Brook Primary School

Northcliffe District High School

Parkwood Primary School

Poseidon Primary School

Quinns Rocks Primary School

Richmond Primary School

Rostrata Primary School

Thornlie Primary School

Wembley Downs Primary School

West Morley Primary School

Winthrop Primary School

Wirrabirra Primary School

/Public Release. View in full here.