National Gallery of Australia Council appointments

The Australian Government has appointed Mr Michael Gannon, Ms Terri Janke, the Hon Richard Alston AO, and Professor Sally Smart as members of the Council of the National Gallery of Australia for three year terms.

Mr Gannon is a Chartered Accountant and the Executive Chair of the Cremorne Group. He will bring substantial business and philanthropic experience to the Council.

Ms Janke is a lawyer and managing director of Terri Janke and Company Lawyers and Consulting. She has worked extensively in the arts sector and is recognised as an international authority on Indigenous Cultural and Intellectual Property. She has written the leading protocols and ICIP models in the film, arts, museum and archival sectors. Her Indigenous heritage is Torres Strait Islander (Meriam) and Aboriginal (Wuthathi).

Mr Alston is a company director and Adjunct Professor of Information Technology at Bond University. He has extensive experience in government, international diplomacy and business. He formerly served as Australia’s High Commissioner to the United Kingdom and as Federal Minister for the Arts.

Professor Smart is an acclaimed contemporary artist and Vice-Chancellor’s Fellow, Victorian College of the Arts, University of Melbourne. She serves on the Board of the National Association of Visual Artists, the peak body representing artists. Professor Smart will bring significant knowledge of and experience in the contemporary visual arts sector to the Council.

The Government thanks outgoing members Mr Timothy Fairfax AC, Mr John Hindmarsh AM and Ms Jane Hylton for their significant contribution to the Council over the past nine years.

The NGA is responsible for the development, maintenance and display of Australia’s national art collection. The Council is responsible for the management and strategic direction of the NGA.

For more information about the National Gallery visit:

/Public Release. View in full here.